Most Athletic AND Cornbread Queen

I was very active through most of my life, softball, running, and just staying busy with my kids. I have ran 2 half marathons and several 5Ks in the past 5 years. (Yes I know that is a long time, but I need to make myself look as good as possible). I cook almost every single meal we eat, very seldom do I get take out, and still somehow I woke up one morning and realized overnight, somehow I gained 30 pounds. Where did this come from and how do I make it go away? Yes, I know the answer. It’s rhetorical.

My family and I often attend the Disney Food & Wine Festival in the fall. Last year my daughter and now son-in-law had their engagement pictures taken while we were there. (FYI they used Concept Photography and they were wonderful.) Our family actually refers to it more as the Wine and Beer Festival, but whatever. If you love good wine, beer, and food you need to make it a point to go the Festival at least once. I recommend going toward the end. You will probably not even be able to get rooms toward the start unless you are booking them now.

I have exactly 270 days to lose these 30 lbs. I will not count every calorie I put into my mouth, I work for a living and don’t have time or patience to do that, the only supplements I will take are a daily vitamin, fish oil capsule, and Metamucil, and I will not sign up for another unbreakable gym contract that I quit using (more about that in a future post). I will do this by using common sense, healthy cooking, and exercising my way, and your support.

Each day I will post one recipe I made the day prior, give you my highs and lows, and vent my frustrations. Each of my readers is cheaper than a psychiatrist I am assuming. Also I will post my weight each Friday. After getting on my scales this morning, I am pretty sure I need to go buy another set of scales. Obviously mine are off, quite a bit……If I am willing to let you know what I weigh, I need your support. Post this link on your Facebook page. I need all the help and support I can get. I am ready, so let’s go. I hope Mickey and Minnie do not recognize me Nov 1.

Anyone remember the “Cabbage Soup” Diet? Well the soup wasn’t that bad but I could eat the entire pot then look for food. It wasn’t very filling. The soup we had last night is wonderful, healthy, and filling. You can eat two large bowls and still be doing good, but I don’t think you could.

FYI: all my recipes have vegetarian options in parenthesis.

Mustard Green Turkey Sausage Soup

If you prefer substitute turnip greens for the mustard green. I love collards, but you need a green with a little “bite”.

 

1 medium onion, chopped

2 Tab olive oil

4 cups water

*Lipton Dry Vegetable Soup (use both packets)

2 pounds fresh mustard green, washed and chopped rather fine (I leave the stems on because they are so tender they cook down quickly and add fiber.)

1 can cannellini beans, rinsed

½ lb. lean turkey polish sausage (I used Fit & Active from Aldi), sliced then cut into half then quarters (Vegetarian sausage or no meat)

2 heavy squirts Sriracha (optional)

Salt/Pepper to taste. Taste first, the soup has salt.

  • Sauté onions in oil in Dutch oven until tender.
  • Add water, vegetable soup, and greens. Stir and bring back to a boil. Cook 5 minutes. Add beans, sausage, and Sriracha. Cook until greens are tender to your liking. It will not take long since they are so tender.

*I had always used another dry soup mix for this soup, until I turned the bag over and read the ingredients. This one is not perfect, but better. Progress… More on this in another blog.

You may be aware, but could have forgotten. When I was 11 years old, I won the 4-H Cornbread Baking Contest for Lexington County. Probably remember now, it was quite a big deal. I make this cornbread often, but last night I only had two pieces. I left half of the baked cornbread on the counter and it never got to the table. Smarter already! I will make Cornbread Salad for lunch tomorrow. (Told you my daily salads would be of various types.)

4-H Cornbread

1 cup yellow cornmeal

½ cup flour (I have tried to use whole wheat here, but it never turns out the same.)

¼ tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 cup fat-free buttermilk

1 egg

1/4 cup canola oil

1/8 cup sugar

  • Preheat oven to 425o.
  • Mix all ingredients together with a wire whisk. Pour into a greased muffin tin or a greased 9 x 9 pan.
  • Bake for 25 minutes.

My day:

Coffee with Vanilla Caramel Creamer (more on this later)

1 Venti non-fat latte

Homemade pinto cheese on a homemade bun

1 non-fat lemon Greek yogurt

Banana

Mustard Green / Turkey Sausage Soup

4-H Muffins

Exercise:  3.2 miles, 16.10 miles/minute, 51.40 minutes, 308 calories

272 days to go. (I will weigh on Fridays)

Well, day one has been awesome hope you stop by again and bring some friends.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

