Friday, Weigh Day

Day 2 – Epic Failure

Weigh Day (I know I have only been blogging for several days, however, I have been working this entire week. Results at the bottom.)

Coffee – Vanilla/Caramel Creamer

Large Non-fat no foam latte

Bowl of Shredded Wheat (Simply Nature form Aldi)

No it was not the one with the sweet on top.

Skim Milk

So far not so bad, but wait for it. My daughter came into town today to return some duplicate wedding gifts and pick up some more “stuff” from the Columbia house. We met one of her friends for lunch at the Farmer’s Shed.  I can honestly say I never fry food or hardly ever eat it, but when I sat down I saw that Tuesday was also fried cube steak day.  My strength melted to a puddle around my feet. So, I had chicken fried cube steak, with milk gravy (white gravy), green beans, and a baked sweet potato. Here is one positive step, I usually love white rice and some more of the milk gravy, but I didn’t. Small progress?

We were out all day, so I didn’t get to make my corn bread salad. I like for it to sit. I will make it for tomorrow evening’s meal.

I decided to make a Healthy Cobb Salad with Mediterranean Dressing.

 

Healthy Cobb Salad with Mediterranean Dressing

Use what you have and what you like in this salad. Just omit the bacon and blue cheese from a traditional Cobb Salad. This just shows what I put on mine. I put the greens in the bowl and then added the other ingredients in lines on top of the salad as with a traditional Cobb Salad.

Romaine lettuce, arugula, and spinach – cut into bite sized pieces

1 turnip peeled, diced into small cubes

½ cup chick peas, drained.

½ cup frozen corn, cooked in microwave with a small amount of water about 4 minutes

Cherry tomatoes, halved

Chopped onions

½ cup chopped cooked chicken (Omit for vegetarian or use Quorn Chick’n Tenders)

1/8 cup crumbled feta

½ avocado, diced (Put half with seed still intact in Ziploc bag refrigerate and use the next day.)

Few kalamata olives

Mediterranean Dressing

Mediterranean Dressing

I like the Mediterranean Dressing at a local chain company that begins with a Z.  This recipe is adapted from a Food Network recipe and is really close. Keep in refrigerator, and warm before using.

 

¾ cup extra virgin olive oil

¼ cup + 1 Tab red wine vinegar

¾ Tab dried oregano

¾ Tab dried basil

1 tsp. salt

½ Tab onion powder

½ Tab minced garlic

¾ Tab Dijon mustard

1/16 (or ¼ of a fourth of a cup) Parmesan Cheese

¼ tsp fresh ground pepper

  • Put all ingredients in a mason jar with a lid and shake. For flavors to blend let sit for 2 hours before using.

Another win!!!  I realized I was really hungry when I was preparing the ingredients for my Cobb Salad. Normally I snack while I am cooking (and by snacking I mean a lot. After all, I am a good cook), then eat when I finish cooking.  I realize I may be eating 1.5 meals at dinner. Maybe there is something to writing this blog….  I was peeling and dicing the turnip for my salad, and started snacking on it. So, instead of eating chicken, feta, and everything other item, I peeled myself another turnip and sliced it for a snack. If you have never tried fresh turnips, they are wonderful this time of year. Just peel, slice and eat.

Glass of white wine.

Okay I decided to do some body pump for my exercise today. After all, I took an hour class for years so I decided to pick some moves, use my 5 lb. hand weights, and do 3 sets then see what I wanted to do after.  Well, did I mention it may have been 5 years since I actually took the class? The weights felt like 10 pounds, and by the second set, I felt pretty sure I had pulled something somewhere. I successfully completed two sets and nothing after, but the way I decided to look at it is that I have room to feel really good about myself when I can get through all 3 sets. It’s all mind games…

15 Situps on the ball

15 Rows with two 5 lbs hand weights

15 Lunge and twist with two 5 lbs. hand weights

15 Arm presses with two 5 lbs hand weights

15 Plank and kicks

3 large glasses of water & Metamucil.

Maybe today wasn’t an epic fail after all. I chose to snack on a raw turnip, did some different exercises which I may or may not be walking from tomorrow, and did not order the white rice with milk gravy.

30 pounds – 3.4 lbs= 26.6 lbs to go…..

267 Days to Disney Food & Wine Festival

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

