Fiesta or Fail?

I am a “blogger,” so why am I still cooking and cleaning?

With my real job I often travel a great deal. Last week I traveled to John’s Island to see a wonderful friend and client. I know you’re as shocked as I am that after 3 days of blogging, I still have to go to a real job. Guess the world isn’t ready yet for me full time. I left Charleston at 4:45 pm. For those who don’t know, as wonderful as Charleston is most people commute into Charleston for work – meaning that a trip that should have taken me 2 hours, took me 3 hours and 15 minutes. Here’s the thing, normally I would stop at Exit 211 get a large diet coke with light ice and a small fry to “hold me over till I get home.” That folks is what we cause a tease, more later.

Breakfast consisted of l cup of original Fiber One, with 2 Tab of melted peanut butter (pop in the microwave for a few minutes), and a few cranberries. Mix together and voila a great on-the-go breakfast.

Coffee with Vanilla Caramel creamer.

As I mentioned I was working with a client so, like the true professional I am, I took them to lunch at the Mexican restaurant on John’s Island beside the Bi-Lo grocery. (We learned of this hole-in-the-wall gem when my daughter ran the Kiawah Marathon.) I know what you’re wondering – did I already fail epically on the third day? Actually, I did eat some of those wonderful chips with salsa, but not nearly as many as I wanted. I had a beef enchilada with rice and beans and only ate half of the beans and rice. So I was pleased.

Now for the way home story. I did stop at Exit 211 and for the first time in my life, I bought a banana at a gas station and it was actually good (you can never judge a banana by its peel), and a medium diet coke. Progress.

When I got home I was pretty hungry, and unlike all these famous actors who write diet books, I had to make dinner and clean up my own kitchen. Not fair.

Howeve,r I had prepared and did a little prep the night before.

Mexican Chicken and Cornbread Pot Pie

I like to make things in individual serving dishes. I know it’s more to clean, but when the kids were young they thought it was neat, so I still do several meals this way. It also lets me know when my meal is complete. I added a small portion of marinated slaw with this for a complete meal.

Makes 4 individual servings or put into one larger casserole dish.

*1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast (Omit or use Quorn Chick’N Tenders)

2 Tab olive oil

1 cup chopped onion

1 large Tab minced garlic

**1 Tbs minced pickled jalapenos

**¼ cup sliced black olives

1 28oz can diced tomatoes, drained (I like the petite chopped)

1 Tab chili powder – more or less according to your taste

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp dried oregano

1 cup frozen or fresh corn kernels

2 tsp red wine vinegar

3 Tab chopped cilantro

Salt/Pepper

Topping

1 ½ cup cornmeal (I like yellow)

½ tsp sugar

1 ¾ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 egg or ¼ cup egg substitute

¾ cup skim milk

*Can use leftover chicken if you have it.

  • If using raw chicken, place chicken breast in a pot large enough to cover with water, bring to a boil and poach until chicken is cooked. Depending on size about 8 – 10 minutes. Remove chicken breast and allow to cool. When chicken stock cools, pour into Ziploc bag and drop in freezer for later use. When chicken is cool, cut into small bite size pieces.
  • Preheat oven to 425o
  • In a large skillet, heat the oil on medium heat and add onions. Sauté for about 6 minutes or until tender. Add garlic and sauté another 30 seconds.
  • Add tomatoes, chili powder, cumin, oregano, corn, olives, vinegar, cilantro, salt, and pepper. Mix well. Simmer on low for 10 minutes. Add chicken and taste to add more chili powder or salt if necessary.
  • Spray individual bowls and divide the mixture evenly between bowls.
  • **I don’t care for jalapenos and my son doesn’t care for black olives. So on top of the chicken mixture in two bowls I add the jalapenos evenly and black olives on the other two.
  • Mix topping ingredients together and divide the mixture evenly between the 4 bowls. Spread over the top. Do not fret about covering every spot; it will rise nicely when it bakes.
  • Put bowls on large baking sheet and bake for 20 – 30 minutes. The cornbread should be golden brown.
  • We topped ours with a little fat free Greek yogurt.

3 large tervis of water & Metamucil.

Exercise: (Sunday)

4.3 miles, 69 minutes, 427.61 calories

26.6 lbs and 267 days to go until Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fiesta or Fail?

  1. Susan Jordan says:

    I am so proud of you !!!! Now I gotta work at getting psyched to join you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

