Not Perfect, but Practicing

I have said from the beginning that I will not eat lettuce and carrot sticks. I will not keep a count of every calorie that I eat, and I also won’t assign and track points for all my food.  Kudos to those who have the patience and time to do this. I do not want to avoid going anywhere with my family and friends because I don’t have enough calories or points left in my day.

I do have limits however and this is my main goal:  to set limits. I know I will go rouge every once in a while and I also know I will live through it. I am not trying to drop the entire 30 lbs in a month. (I say this because I saw a magazine for sale and the cover story is “Drop 27 lbs A Month.” If I did that this blog would only exist for 30 days and I will, more than likely, have gained it all, and possibly more, back by Nov 1 when we head to the Food & Wine show. Okay, although I find it insane – I did buy the magazine to look at the insanity.  However, don’t fret – I would never consider taking these next 265 days away from us.) Okay, back to the point I was getting at…

My son, sometimes referred to as “Roomie” (or at least until he finishes another degree and moves out) informed me he was taking me out to dinner tonight. This I knew meant one of three things: 1. He is a nice son and loves his Mom (true point regardless of the any other reason), 2. He wanted something very unhealthy to eat, or 3. He had no desire to clean the kitchen. (I cook. He cleans each evening.) I will let you guess which one is the correct answer.

He had a craving for a Black and Blue Hamburger so we headed to a local wings place. Well, since I was there and he was paying, I had wings and wing chips, extra crispy, and one craft beer. Yes it was delicious, and no I didn’t eat it all, and yes I felt like crap after, but we had a wonderful time. Anytime I can spend quality time with my children, regardless of their age, I do not pass it up. I will work a little harder this week and do better. I believe this attitude will help me be successful.

I have a quinoa and steamed broccoli salad already prepared for lunch today. Breakfast was a bowl of my homemade granola and skim milk.

Homemade Granola

I have no idea where this recipe came from. My Mom made it and we have adapted and changed it over the years until we have it just like we like it. It has very little sugar so unlike most granola it’s really good for you.

6 cups oatmeal

1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1 cup wheat germ

¾ cups nuts (We like chopped almonds, but use your favorite)

1 cup sunflower seed

½ cup pumpkin seed

½ cup flax seed.

  • Mix all these ingredients together.

1/3 cup canola oil

½ cup honey (I always use local honey)

1/3 cup water

1 ½ tsp vanilla

  • Preheat oven to 325o.
  • Mix in a class bowl and heat in microwave a minute to mix ingredients together well.
  • Pour over above ingredients and mix well. Gets a little messy.
  • Divide into three 9 inch cake pans.
  • Put in oven for 30 minutes, setting the timer to stir each pan every 10 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and set pans on wire racks to cool.
  • Add 1 cup raisins, cranberries, or a mixture of both when cooled.
  • Store in well-sealed plastic container.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil

261 days till Disney Food & Wine Festival.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

