Imperfect, Perfection

I learned a lot about myself last week, some good and some not-so good.  Last week of my journey began so well until Tuesday evening.  I am the Chair of the American Water Works Customer Service Committee. This is the most amazing group of committee members I have ever worked with. Some are new to the committee some, like me, have been on the committee for over 15 years.  Each year we hold a two-day workshop in my hometown. As many of the members who can come in a day early so we can set up and then go out to eat. We always have a wonderful time. We went for our usual Mexican. I had the #9 with 2 beers. Not horrible, but there was no exercise that day, or the rest of the week…but getting to that. The next two days consisted of 8 hours of workshop. Well, as with many workshops there are “things” around. You know what I mean, cookies, trail mix, granola bars, nutty buddies, take-out, bananas, etc. I tended to just nibble all day. At the end of each day, I am exhausted, so there was no exercise. I felt bad and beat myself up mentally Wednesday night, but Thursday was pretty much a repeat.  I do not even remember what I had for dinner either of those nights.

Friday was special. My daughter and son-in-law and their two large dogs came into town for a wedding. So no exercise that day and I was exhausted still from the workshop. If you have never put together a workshop, you cannot imagine the work and exhaustion it takes from the entire committee. Saturday I went to my great niece’s third birthday party, then to the wedding. Snacking and drinking again. So, here I am starting over again.

Well it is Monday February 16, 2015 and I begin my journey again. I did not give into my temptation for lunch today. I had a very late lunch, 2:00 pm. I was starving, but instead of picking up something I forced myself to pick up a rotisserie chicken and went straight home, spiralized a zucchini, chopped up some tomatoes, and onion and made a salad with a bit of Mediterranean dressing. That folks was a win and I will take them any time. I remembered when I am starving and stop to pick up food the unhealthiest item on the menu sounds awesome and I get it along with a side.

Just a quick word on my spiralizer; I purchased it about a year ago and I love it. We have always enjoyed raw veggies, but this sends them to another level, it’s fun, and it drives my family a little over the edge because I spiralize any and everything that sits still long enough. They have known me for 28 and 30 years and are both extremely intelligent, you would think that they would have learned that the more they roll their eyes and make sarcastic remarks the more I will use it.

Skim milk, shredded wheat (not the sweet sugary wonderful topping kind)

Coffee with vanilla caramel creamer

Spiralized large zucchini, rotisserie chicken, tomatoes, onions, and Mediterranean dressing (see recipe in previous post for recipe)

Beef Chow Mein

3 Large tervis water

Metamucil

Ground Beef Chow Mein

This is not “real” chow mein. My mom made this when I was growing up and had never eaten at a Chinese restaurant, so I had no idea. Actually, I like this better. I have adapted it to be healthier.

1 lb. 95% lean ground beef

½ tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground ginger

4 Tbs. soy sauce (preferably low sodium)

1 beef bullion

1 cup hot water

1 medium onion sliced

½ cup sliced celery

1 large can chow mein vegetables, drained

1 Tbs. corn starch

2 Tbs. water

Chow mein noodles

1 bag broccoli slaw

  • Brown beef in large skillet drain any oil that cooks out.
  • Add ginger, salt, soy sauce, bullion, and water. Stir well, cook on low covered for 10 minutes.
  • Add drained vegetables, onion, and celery. Cook 5-6 minutes (vegetables should be crunchy)
  • Combine corn starch with water, mix well and add to skillet. Bring to a boil stirring often. Done when thickened and hot.
  • The recipe calls for this to be served over chow mein noodles. I love the crunch, but since they are so processed, I served mine over 1 cup broccoli slaw with ¼ cup chow mein noodles.

(My roomie asked if I was typing my blog, and he said to add that he was full to the rafters from Chow Mein.)

257 Days till Disney Wine & Food Festival

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

