Will there be beer?

Beer – Yes Please!

I like beer, a lot.

I also really enjoy a good craft beer. My favorite is a hoppy, citrusy, IPA and if it’s a double even better. Judge if you would like, but life is short. I have decided on my journey to lose 30 pounds by the Disney Beer & Wine Festival, oops Food & Wine Festival, I will not give up good beer, just cut down. I realize craft beer makers are not interested in making a “lite” version of their beer and I am okay with that. I refuse to drink beer flavored water (think 64 calories) to diet. I would rather not drink it at all. I can make this work and we will together. To quote Homer Simpson, “Will there be beer?” On this journey there will be beer.

As an aside, since I quoted Homer Simpson, when The Simpson’s started, way too long ago, I watched 5 minutes of the first show and told my children, then around 8 & 10 that they would not be watching this show. About a year later, my son informed me he was the only one in his entire school who was not allowed to watch it. Mama stood tough and told him that made him unique. And yes, for all of you who are thinking it, I am not so naïve that I didn’t realize he was watching it when he went to friends’ houses. He quoted way too much of it for someone who supposedly never watched it.  And for the record, the first five minutes I watched of the first show, is the only five minutes I have ever seen. As far as I am concerned the worst torture ever would be to make someone watch a Simpson’s marathon; I would tell you whatever you wanted to know before you hit play.

1 90 calorie cup lemon Greek yogurt

Coffee with creamer

Salad: romaine, broccoli slaw (yes I am aware it is just the stems they cannot sell, I like the crunch), onion, rotisserie chicken I found in the ref., bell pepper, few green olives, little goat cheese, and Mediterranean Dressing

Few Tortilla chips

Spareribs with Vegetables

McDonalds Ice Cream cone (Honest)

Getting cold outside so I wanted something warm, filling, and healthy for dinner. Just watch my portions and feel good.

Spareribs with Vegetables

 

This recipe is from a very old Fannie Farmer Cookbook I happen to find at Goodwill several years ago. It is a paperback and in pretty rough shape, after looking through it I really wanted one in better shape and looked on line. WOW did I get a deal. The cheapest one I could find was $85.00. As we country girls do, buy pretty duct tape and fix-it.

3 pounds pork country style ribs (little fat as possible)

1 bay leaf

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

1 ½ tsp salt

4 potatoes, peeled (optional) and quartered

1 small head cabbage, quartered

1 large onion, peeled and quartered

  • Spray Dutch oven with canola oil and heat. Brown the ribs on all sides. (May have to do in two batches.) Remove ribs on plate and wipe the Dutch oven of all oil.
  • Add 4 cups of water to the Dutch oven and bring to a boil. Add ribs, bay leaf, salt, and pepper and simmer for 45 minutes.
  • Add the potatoes and simmer for 5 minutes, then add cabbage and simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Drain and serve.

3 large tervis water and Metamucil

256 Days till Disney Food & Wine Festival

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Will there be beer?

  1. Cindy says:

    “buy pretty duct tape and fix-it”……LOVE it!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

