TGIWD

(Thank Goodness It’s Weigh Day)

Happy dance today!

Down 0.8 pounds.

I know it’s not a lot, but I am pleased. I am also pleased when I buy a scratch off ticket and just win the amount I paid for the ticket. I am eating somewhat normal and not avoiding all the foods I like. Since last week I learned that a week with 2 ½ days at a workshop needs some adjustments in my eating, I now have 29.2 pounds to go in my quest. To put this into perspective this is equal to 0.11 lbs/day for 254 days or approximately 0.8 lbs/week for 36 weeks. I do believe I am right on target.

I distinctly remember when my mom bought the first crockpot she ever owned; quite possibly the only one she ever owned also. She was a cooking goddess and did not take kindly to shortcuts in cooking, but she did buy a crockpot. I also remember she hardly ever used it because it was such a hassle to clean. It was not submersible and the “crock” part did not come out for cleaning. She had to pour hot water into the crockpot on the counter with detergent and scrub it. I would have not used it much either. I presently own 2 large and one medium sized crockpots (I know, bragging). I became a crockpot lover when my kids were both playing different sports at different fields every day for years. We seldom picked up dinner. I would put the ingredients into the crock the night before, put it in the refrigerator, and pop it into the crockpot the next morning before I left for work. When I got home from work I would unplug it and let it sit until we came home. I still love using my crockpot(s). Thank goodness they are much easier to clean. I try to remember to always spray the inside prior to adding ingredients. And yes I know you can purchase crockpot liners. In fact, I finally broke down a few years ago and bought a box to try. Tried one, threw the others away. I had issues with spooning out the food and the liner coming up or acting like it wanted to keep my food. My scientific mind started to imagine these little poly-plastic germs like amoebas creeping from the plastic liner into my food. Not for me and the crocks are so easy to clean now so no big deal.

3 egg omelet with ¼ cup cheese

Coffee with creamer

Banana

Salad; romaine lettuce, spinach, handful of broccoli slaw, shredded carrots, green olives, chickpeas and Mediterranean dressing (FYI, I don’t like a little salad with my dressing as some do. For a large salad I use 3-4 Tablespoons max.)

Crockpot beer chicken, 2 tacos. Soft flour tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes, Greek Yogurt

2 Glasses chardonnay (Yep out of beer)

Crockpot Beer Chicken

This is super simple and AWESOME. This can be used as is, shredded to taco meat, put on salads or sandwiches.

 

2-3 lbs chicken breast, skinless & boneless (I have also used a whole chicken and removed most of the skin and works wonderful also.)

1 12 oz. can or bottle of beer (I have used a dark beer, think Guinness, or whatever I had in the refrigerator and found both to taste the same.)

1 onion sliced thin

½ tsp salt

1 ½ tsp garlic powder

1 Tab dried oregano

½ tsp black pepper

  • Place all ingredients in crockpot and stir. (This becomes tricky if using a whole bird, just turn the bird a time or two.)
  • Cook on low 6-8 hours or high 4-5 hours.

3 large tervis water and Metamucil

29.2 pounds to go (-0.8)

254 days till Disney Food & Wine. I get so excited every day when I type this.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

