Snow Day?!

The weather forecast called for snow here in Lexington. Thisis normally a sure fire bet there will be none. However, today we have had flurries of snow, sleet, and rain; just plain yucky.

Here is where this losing weight thing is going to be challenging this week. Once again I will be out of town teaching a 2-day class. There is always unhealthy food on the back table of every class. I have to be strong. The last workshop was a bust for me and I am determined not to let it happen again. I thought about writing in my contract that no unhealthy food could be present, but heck that’s what some of the attendees come for, oh, and my great class of course.

Bowl of oatmeal with 2 Tab peanut butter and a few dried cranberries

Coffee with creamer

Here is where the “real life” sets in. I had a Whopper, no mayo or cheese and a small fry for lunch. I am so far from perfect it hurts. But folks this is real life, and I am not perfect. I am learning. Thank goodness I have 250 days to go. I am going to need every one of them. So tomorrow night I will add extra exercise.

Baked Potato Soup with saltines for dinner

Glass of white wine

Baked Potato Soup

Anytime I bake potatoes during the winter I always bake a few extra to make Baked Potato Soup. Over the years I have tweaked the recipe and lightened it up. Amazingly it has enough cheese and cream to give it the creamy rich flavor you look for. If you don’t have baked potatoes ready, bake some for dinner tonight, then make this soup tomorrow.

3 baked potatoes peeled and diced – room temp or warm in microwave

1 small onion, diced

2 ½ cup chicken broth (Vegetable broth)

1 tsp dried thyme

2 cups skim milk + ¼ cup

4 Tab flour

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

Salt/pepper

  • Spray bottom of Dutch oven with cooking spray and heat to medium/high. Add onions and sauté until tender.
  • Add chicken broth, thyme, and salt & pepper. Bring to a slow simmer for 10 – 15 minutes.
  • Add diced potatoes; bring back to a slow boil. If you prefer your potatoes less “cubed”, use a potato masher to make the soup creamier. Add milk
  • Put flour in a small bowl with a lid and add about ¼ cup milk. Put lid on a shake well. If still lumpy when remove the lid, stir with a spoon, put lid back on, and shake again.
  • Pour flour mixture into the simmering soup stirring constantly. Add cheese and let melt.
  • When hot through remove from heat and serve.

Got in 3 miles, yes in yucky weather and 50 sit-ups.

3 large tervis of water & Metamucil

250 Days to Disney Food & Wine Festival

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

