Work(shop)in’ It

Well yesterday markedday one of two day workshop, actually only one day since the ice and snow forecasted for Lancaster postponed tomorrow’s class till early March. I must say I didn’t do so bad; nothing like the two day workshop in early February. I didn’t go to the “back table” to get anything but diet coke, I know, and 2 bananas. And believe me there was a many more choices available. I did eat 3 slices of pizza for lunch, but I consider it a win.

I consider it a win in more than one way. My workshop was full of wonderful people who I admire for the work they do each day. They provide safe drinking water, which unfortunately, too many take for granted and just expect. I discussed my battling weight issue with two of the ladies and somehow we are going to form a group to work together. They agreed they didn’t want to take any medicines, drink shakes, count calories, or food points; once again if that works for you, great. Keeping each other accountable is the key. We must find a 5K that we can train for even if it means walking it.

My wit was pretty low last night. I left home early and got back late. Had to drive in snow and sleet through Blythewood, granted it wasn’t very long, so I am beat. I never sleep well before a class because I am worried that I will oversleep and the fear that for some strange reason this will be the time the clock won’t go off.

So, I am going to leave you with my daily recipe, rest, and regain my wit for tonight.

Coffee with creamer

Granola bar

2 bananas

3 pieces pizza

Salad: chickpeas, boiled egg, poached chicken, spinach, romaine lettuce, tomato, carrots, bell pepper, onion, Mediterranean dressing with some homemade baked tortilla chips

1large glass white wine.

Asian Chicken with Edamame

 

Serve over brown rice or couscous. Remember ingredients in  parenthesis are for vegetarian version.

 

2 medium boneless skinless chicken breast cut into ¾ inch cubes (Quorn Chik’n Tenders)

Salt/pepper

2 tsp. cornstarch

¼ cup water

2 Tbs. peanut oil or vegetable oil

1 package frozen edamame, shelled

2 Tbs grated ginger

1 tsp minced garlic

¼ cup sake or mirin

3 Tbs soy sauce

2 Tbs rice vinegar

1 Tbs honey

2 Tbs fresh bean sprouts (optional)

  • Boil water to cook edamame per package directions and drain. Transfer ½ of the cooked edamame to a large bowl. Save the rest for snack.
  • Season chicken with salt and pepper. In a small container with a lid, combine cornstarch with water, seal and shake to mix well
  • Heat the oil in a large sauté pan on medium heat and add chicken. Cook until done stirring frequently, about 3 minutes. When cooked transfer to bowl with edamame.
  • Add a tsp of oil to the pan and add ginger and cook about 1 minute, the add garlic. Cook another 30 seconds. Add the sake or mirin, soy sauce, rice vinegar, honey and heat, stirring constantly. Bring to a low boil and add cornstarch mixture. Scrape up any browned bits on the bottom of the pan with a wooden spatula. Bring back to a slow boil and add chicken and edamame. Stir will. Remove from heat.
  • Serve over brown rice or couscous with fresh bean sprouts.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil

249 days until Disney Food & Wine and 1 more day till weigh in.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

