How to Make Exercising More Fun (and educational!)

I have made the most amazing discovery. Pretty sure it’s a new thing, so I want to make sure everyone else is aware of it: podcasts.

Where have they been? Some of you may be saying “where has she been,” obviously not in the 21st century on some things. My daughter talked about listening to them on her blog so I decided to give them a try. This was right after I called and asked where to find them on my phone, but not where I’m going here. I am hooked and it makes exercising a bit better. I am not much of a music fan so these fit me to a tee. I am however a bit of a nerd so I thoroughly enjoy Stuff You Missed in History Class, the episode on The Invention of Plastic is incredible, and The DIS Unplugged – A Weekly Disney Newsletter. There are plenty more that I will be trying.

Well, I found another set of exercises today on Instagram from “howtoexercise.” There is a good mixture of plans for different days. I decided to write a few down and start keeping how long it takes me each time to do one and how many reps I can do. The one I chose for today had: 20 forward lunges, 15 triceps dips, 10 push-ups, 20 Russian twists, 15 sit-ups, 12 leg raises, and 20 burpees. Working toward 4 rounds. Those blessed burpees were not quite as bad today. At least the cats didn’t leave the room with their heads hung down and in total humiliation. I only got 10 of the 20 in and only did one round. This leaves ample room to improve. I then went for a 2 mile walk/run. I will probably need someone to help me out the bed in the morning to the scales for weigh-in Friday however.

Breakfast sandwich – 2 pieced of ww toast, boiled egg sliced, small amount of cheddar cheese, and wait for it, spinach leaves. Quite tasty!

Coffee with creamer

Left over baked potato soup with a few saltines with peanut butter

Chicken Enchiladas, with lettuce, onion, Greek Yogurt

Pretty sure there will be wine.

Simple Chicken Enchiladas

I stopped by the store and purchased a rotisserie chicken to make this. These are a bit expensive, but you are paying for your convenience. Soon as I get home I remove all the skin, shred it, and put it in plastic container. Then it’s ready to go.

 

2 cups shredded rotisserie chicken

1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies, drained

2 (10 oz) cans enchilada sauce (heat your preference, I use mild)

1 (16 oz) can refried beans

½ cup frozen corn

½ tsp cumin

Salt/Pepper

Shredded cheddar cheese

Corn tortillas

  • Preheat oven to 350o.
  • Mix chicken, green chilies, refried beans, corn, cumin, and salt and pepper together.
  • You can roll each enchilada up, but since they always seem to fall apart anyway, I just cover the bottom of a 9 x 13” baking dish with a thin layer of enchilada sauce, tear the tortillas in half and cover the bottom. Next a layer of the chicken mixture, and some cheese; then another layer of tortillas, rest of chicken mixture, rest of enchilada sauce and cheese.
  • Bake for 30 – 45 minutes until bubbly.
  • We like to add shredded lettuce, onions, cheese, black olives, and Greek Yogurts to ours but your preference.

3 large tervis water and Metamucil.

248 days to Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

