Oh, Happy Day!

Oh what a beautiful Friday, in more ways than one. First, the sun is finally shining, which I was not sure was ever going to happen again. Second, weigh-in Friday was a success. Down 2.4 pounds for a total of 2.48 lbs leaving me with only 27.52 to go, and as Phil Robinson would say, “Happy, Happy, Happy.” Now, here is where I have to be careful. I have often lost a little weight, which in my mind gave me the thoughts of “So, I got a little room to splurge since I lost some weight.” Trying to make super sure I do not get this mentality. There may be something to those cursed burpees after all.

I have a hard time with breakfast. I like breakfast and have always eaten something. When my children were at home they had a cooked breakfast every morning before school. My mom always did and so did I. Oatmeal, homemade pancakes and waffles, eggs, cinnamon rolls, grits, etc, all the basics. I seem to be in a rut so I am going to make homemade waffles this weekend and freeze them. A wonderful breakfast is to pop 2 in the toaster, spread about 1 ½ Tablespoon peanut butter on one, drizzle with a small amount of honey, and add sliced apples, then another waffle. This is a great, filling breakfast. I have learned if I don’t have anything handy for breakfast I tend to pick something up and there isn’t much for breakfast at a drive-thru that is not loaded with butter and grease. Ever tried to order a chicken biscuits at Chik Fil A without a buttered biscuit? Blows their mind. My guess is the purpose of the butter it to keep the grease from the fried chicken making the biscuit soggy. There is a visual for you.

Hope everyone has a great weekend filled with sunshine.

Scrambled eggs with small biscuit

Banana

Coffee with creamer

Lunch Zaxby’s House Salad with grilled chicken & 1 packet of Mediterranean Dressing

Dinner 2 left over pieces of homemade vegetable pizza.

1 beer

Multi Grain Waffles

Adapted from Eating Well Cookbook, 2004

 

2 cups buttermilk

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

2/3 cup whole-wheat flour

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup toasted wheat germ, or cornmeal

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon canola oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • Mix buttermilk and oats in a medium bowl; let stand for 15 minutes.
  • Whisk whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, wheat germ (or cornmeal), baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.
  • Stir eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla into the oat mixture. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients; mix with a rubber spatula just until moistened.
  • Coat a waffle iron with cooking spray and preheat. Spoon in enough batter to cover three-fourths of the surface (about 2/3 cup for an 8-by-8-inch waffle iron). Cook until waffles are crisp and golden brown, 4 to 5 minutes. Repeat with remaining batter.

Tips & Notes

  • To freeze let waffles cool off completely and lay in a single layer on a baking sheet and place in freezer. When froze, remove off sheet and place in Ziploc freezer bag.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil

247 Days to Disney Wine & Food

-2.48 lbs only 27.52 to go.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

