Losing Weight; Its In the Stars

Another wet day in McCormick, however we managed to get over 5 miles in even though the last mile was in the rain. 591 calories burned, so I was pleased. I am sick and tired of rainy day with long pants, sunny day with shorts, rainy day with long pants, etc.

I read this article about how your astrological sign could dictate your dieting success. I read Gemini’s and the gist was a diet along with an exercise program would be beneficial in losing weight. It went on to say a balanced diet and avoiding fast-foods would be beneficial. WOW, who knew? Even though I am making light of this article, I am actually following it’s suggestions however, I didn’t need my astrological sign to know this.

Bowl of oatmeal with 1 Tbs peanut butter

Coffee with creamer

Salad with spinach, alfalfa sprouts, carrots, celery, feta, tomatoes, onions

We did not have any dressing so I remembered my Mom used to make dressing from mixing ketchup with miracle whip and adding a dash of garlic powder and a splash of Worchester sauce.

Sharpe cheddar cheese with crackers

Thai Red Curry Shrimp

This recipe came from the back of the Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste jar. I think it is still on it. It is a delicious quick dinner.

 1 (14 oz) light coconut milk

1 Tab red curry paste

2 Tab fish sauce (omit for vegetarian)

2 Tab brown sugar

1 cup frozen green peas

1/3 cup water

½ pound frozen or fresh shrimp (omit for vegetarian)

Cooked Jasmine rice

  • In a large saucepan, on medium heat, pour coconut milk and add red curry paste. Mix with wisk. Heat till hot throughout.
  • Add fish sauce, brown sugar, frozen peas, and water. Bring to a simmer.
  • Simmer 10 min.
  • Stir in shrimp. Cook 3-5 minutes until shrimp are done. Serve over rice.

3 large tervis water and Metamucil.

243 days to Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

