It’s Not My Fault I’m Fat, It’s the Governments!

Well back home with the roomie. I had a wonderful week with my daughter, but I was glad to catch up with the roomie’s week also. Thursday night my daughter and I watched the movie Fed Up hosted by Katie Couric. It was fascinating. The basic premise is no matter how much we diet and exercise, as told by the government, we will never lose weight as long as we are eating processed foods and take-out. I have known for years that the “low fat” and “healthy” foods have increased their sugars to make American like the taste. I was shocked to find that even some baby formulas have sugar. Sugar is in everything we eat if it comes in a box or in a take-out bag. Sugar is the only ingredient on the box that does not have a daily recommended limit, because the sugar industry stopped Congress from adding it. Even Coca Cola and Pepsi argued before Congress that they did not find exact evidence that drinking sodas was adding to Americans obesity problems. Seriously does anyone actually believe that! Also found it very interesting that when Michelle Obama first introduced her Let’s Move initiative it originally included eating less sugar. Immediately Coke, Pepsi and other big food industry jumped on board and poured money into the campaign which is now just about exercising and not very little about eating healthier. Good lobbyist and money can do anything. Another movie well worth watching.

I weighed this morning since I wanted to weigh on my scales. We all know scales vary, especially the ones at the doctor’s office. Even with all the walking and eating pretty healthy, no processed foods, I was only down 1 pound. But guess what; I am pleased with that, better than up one pound. I am now down 3.4 pounds in my fight. Only 26.6 to go!

I mentioned last week that I would include the salad I had made and brought to my daughters. So here it is.

Whole Grain Confetti Salad

I found this recipe book at the Friends of the Library sale a few weeks ago, Kathy Cooks. It is a bit old, printed 1989, but it has some interesting recipes in it. My family and I love cooked grains. They are a bit chewy if you have not had them before so be aware. I love the texture and flavor. If you have a grain you prefer over wheat berries please use it. I used a mixture of wheat and rye berries. This is great to make on Sunday and have plenty of left over for the next week’s lunch. I served it on a bed of spinach and topped with alfalfa sprouts.

 2 cups water

1 cup wheat berries

¾ cup frozen green peas

½ cup frozen corn

1 large bell pepper chopped fine (any color)

½ cup chopped celery

½ cup chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

1 small can sliced water chestnuts, drained (cut the slices into thin strips)

2 Tab olive oil

1 ½ Tab balsamic or white wine vinegar

1/8 cup nonfat Greek yogurt

1 Tbs. nutritional yeast (health food store)

½ Tbs. soy sauce

½ Tbs. Dijon mustard

¼ cup sliced green onions, white and green

½ tsp black pepper

1 tsp Braggs liquid amino (health food store)

Bring water to a boil and add grains, bring back to a boil and reduce heat to a low boil, cover and cook about 30 minutes. Check to see if they are done to your likeness. Remember they will never be soft but should be chewy.

  • Drain and stir in next 6 ingredients.
  • Mix the remaining ingredients in a small bowl and pour over grain/vegetable mixture. Cover and chill for at least 2 hours.
  • Serve on a bed of greens topped with alfalfa sprouts.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil.

239 days to Disney Food and Wine and only 26.6 pounds to go!

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

