Snakes & Eve

I have a small amount of sympathy for Eve. There truly are “snakes” everywhere tempting me with forbidden food. But it looks so good! How is it when you are trying to eat right, foods you would never eat all of a sudden seem like they would taste so good. It’s the snakes I tell you. More snakes, yesterday; if you remember I wrote a blog on Devil in the Green Uniform, 2.24.15. I am convinced these cute little kids have been massed produced. Yesterday I drove to a local gas station and on the way, at a 4-way stop about two miles from my house, there was a troop of cute snakes with a table set up, (did you get that at the 4-way stop along the road), They were just smiling and waving at every car that stopped; then when I arrived at the gas station, less than a mile away, there was a table at the entrance to the store with more snakes, and you guessed it at both entrances to the grocery store a mere three miles away, snakes selling girl scout cookies. I expect each of these girls to have “sales persons of the year” awards hanging in their offices someday. Also why is it now that the grocery stores feel this need to feed you? Yes that is a rhetorical questions, I know it is to sell the food or the products. I can honestly say I have never tasted any food at the grocery store. It is a snake I tell you, with a hairnet. Honesty there is temptation everywhere; I kind of understand why Eve thought the apple was pretty. Who knows what that snake looked like? Now the issue with the childbirth pains that is another issue I will hopefully one day let Eve know was not appreciated. Just to clarify, I try support all the groups at the church raising money, but good gravy! Of course I was also the mother when the kids brought home the wrapping paper to sell from school; I purchased a few rolls and sent it back without ever asking anyone else. I believe the Salesperson of the Year Award will never be hanging on my wall.

Weekends are harder for me as I try to eat sensible; so this weekend I exercised more. Took a long bike ride Saturday then did a cardio workout, void of burpees, and Sunday a quick 5 mile walk. So hopefully I negated some so the added calories.

I actually made this yesterday for our dinner and it turned out great and the crockpot made it super simple. If you are going to be gone all day, I suggest cooking it the night before in the crockpot since it only takes 2 hours. Then dinner will be ready when you come home.

Gyros

This is from Make It Fast, Cook It Slow cookbook by Stephanie O’Dea. I know the ground lamb is a bit expensive but it is very healthy. I could not find a half pound package so I froze the other half. That seemed to make it feel a little more economical somehow. Roomie quote, “great flavor”.

For the Gyro Meat

½ chopped medium onion

3 garlic cloves minced

½ pound ground lamb

½ pound ground turkey

1 tsp smoked paprika

2 tsp dried oregano

Juice of 1 lemon

For the Tzatziki Sauce

1 small cucumber peeled and grated

1 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1 Tbs olive oil

3 garlic cloves minced

2 Tbs. chopped fresh mint

Juice of 1 lemon

Salt/Pepper

Other stuff

Flat bread (Recipe calls for pita so use what you prefer; I used Toufayan Wholesome Wheat Flat Bread with only 1 gram of sugar each. Still processed by minimally)

Shredded lettuce

Tomatoes, sliced

Feta Cheese

Pitted black olives

Use a 4 qt. slow cooker. Mix both the meats with paprika, oregano, and a little salt & pepper. Form into a little meatloaf shape. Place the onions and garlic in the bottom of the crock pot and meat on top. Squeeze the lemon juice over the meat.

  • Cook on low for 3 1/2 hours or on high for 2 hours. This will be a bit dry. This is so it will slice thinly without breaking up.
  • While the meat is cooking mix up the tzatziki sauce by mixing all ingredients together. Cover and place in refrigerator. Stir well before serving.
  • Slice the meat thinly on a cutting board. Serve with pitas or flatbread. Add toppings as desired. The recipe did not call for this, but we used the onions from the crockpot on ours also.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil

230 days till Disney Food and Wine. (Time is flying but still going so slow.)

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

