Recipe Winners

I had two new recipes for dinner last night plus one old one made new accidently. Roomie rated two of them 4 out of 4 the other 2 out of 4. I did the same except it was different items. The one I rated a 2 out of 4 was way too spicy for me. I accidently grabbed the Thai Asian Garlic Sauce instead of the Sweet Chili Sauce. He thought it was possibly the best slaw I have ever made. He even packed some to eat with his sandwich for lunch tomorrow. Recipe, both ways, will be posted soon.

 I have around 200 cookbooks. I read them like books, they are cookbooks. I have one from every state we have visited, some from my Moms, most I purchased over the years. I have been through each and every one page by page. I alone could keep 3M in business with sticky notes. But I always figure I could have worse habits and we have enjoyed at least one thing from each book. So they are vital for our existence.

 

My Mom used to make Salmon Croquets, with rice and milk gravy and it was delicious. It was the only thing in the “fish” family she would cook. She grew up very poor during the depression and many days the only food they had was fish my Granddaddy could catch in the pond.  She told my Dad when they got married she would not cook anything that came out of the water. I guess the salmon coming out of can made this acceptable. My Dad loved any type of fish and seafood, so when he wanted this they went out. So he got his fish or seafood and she didn’t have to cook or clean the kitchen. Win-win.

Baked Salmon Cakes

Recipe is adapted from About Food by Peggy Trowbridge Filipppone . These are excellent left over also. Use them on a large bed of spinach for a salad with just a touch of dressing.

1 can salmon

Milk (see instructions)

1 Tab butter

1 cup seasoned fine bread crumbs, divided use

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (not the stuff in the can)

1/4 cup minced red bell pepper (sweet capsicum)

1/4 cup minced celery

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon sriracha (more-less-optional)

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

2 Tablespoons chopped fresh chives

1/2 teaspoon dried dill weed

Cooking spray oil

Tartar sauce

After opening the can of salmon press the liquid into a measuring cup. Add enough milk to measure 1 cup. Flake the salmon in a large bowl and remove skin and large bones. Whisk together bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese in a separate bowl. Set each of these ingredients aside for now. Gently sauté onion, red bell pepper, and celery in the butter until softened, but not browned. Whisk in the flour until smooth and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add the milk mixture while continuing to stir and cook until thickened. Remove from heat. Stir in the flaked salmon, hot sauce, lemon juice, chives, dill weed, and 1/2 cup of the bread crumb mixture. Refrigerate the salmon mixture until firm. (You may do this a day in advance up to this point.) Preheat oven to 400 F. Line a shallow baking sheet with non-stick foil and spray with oil. Divide chilled salmon mixture into 8 portions and form into patties. Place remaining bread crumb mixture in a shallow plate. Coat both sides of the salmon patties with the crumbs. Place on prepared baking sheet 2 inches apart. Spray the tops lightly with oil. Bake 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown. Serve with tartar sauce and lemon wedges, if desired.

Tartar Sauce

½ cup lite mayonnaise

½ cup fat free Greek yogurt

¼ cup pickle relish

1 tsp garlic powder

  • Mix together and refrigerate.

They are calling for potential chances of rain the next few days, what’s new, so I went for a short walk today, 2 miles. I will do some more of my cardio inside if necessary when I can’t get out.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil

236 days till Disney Food & Wine (If anyone caught my mistake yesterday, and I am sure somebody did, I was speeding up time.) Imperfect progress remember.

 

[R1]Find link

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

