What a Difference a Jar Makes

I can honestly say today has been an ordinary day. Nothing quickly grabbed my attention to say, “That’s what I will blog about today”. Usually something happens that plants a wee little seed in my mind and I’m off. Well the topic just hit; slaw, yes that is my topic today. I make a lot of slaw but very seldom mayonnaise based. Two reasons, my family does not like it (including me) and we use Miracle Whip. If you aren’t grinning now, let me inform you that the last one a funny. However we are a Miracle Whip family. My late husband liked Dukes, he had so few quirks I had to change (women you know exactly what I mean) I decided to let that one go. Neither one of us ever converted. If I made chicken salad, egg salad, or pimento cheese, two bowls were made. He was determined to make sure the kids were raised Dukies, mayo not the team; however since he never cooked or participated in any food prep except his once a month Saturday fried bologna sandwich, that didn’t happen. He remained the lone Duke’s person in our household. We prefer marinated slaw so I was surprised when I like this slaw. My daughter and I had it in November at the Disney Food & Wine when I went with her and her then fiancé to have their engagement pictures made. I was lucky enough to find the recipe on-line. By the way this was served under Vegetarian Crab-less Crab Cakes that were phenomenal. I have acquired that recipe also and we have made those several times.

Pepper Slaw

This is the recipe I grabbed the wrong chili sauce and my mouth was on fire from tasting it and roomie declared it the best slaw I have ever made. So I have included both options.

chili sauce

3/4 cup mayonnaise or Miracle Whip 1/4 cup chili sauce with garlic or Thai Chili Garlic Paste 2 tsp rice vinegar 4 cups cabbage, shredded (I used green and red) 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced 1 yellow bell pepper, thinly sliced 1 small red onion, thinly sliced Salt and pepper to taste

Pepper Slaw Instructions:

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and refrigerate until ready to use.

3 large tervis water & Metamucil.

235 days till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Difference a Jar Makes

  1. Pingback: “Shady Pines, Ma” | Food & Wine Minus 30

Leave a Reply

