H2O

Well at the time I am typing this blog it has been exactly 1 day and 16 hours without added sugar. I am trying not to eat any foods with added sugar or artificial sweeteners. I texted my daughter around 11 this morning and told her I was about to “chew my arm off for a McDonald’s Diet Coke”. If you are wondering arm is still intact at the time of this blog, but no promises for tomorrow. Then I thought I would grab a tea, well I never drink sweet and I only like unsweet tea with the artificial pink sweeter, so no-go there.  I have decided that water is my only option. It is going to be a rough couple of days even though it should not be since water is my profession; Environmental Engineer with emphasis on water systems. I will remind you that white wine and a good craft beer is still in play in moderation. There are limits to my “healthy” lifestyle.  I feel like I have the energy of a 18 year old and see some results come Friday. I would like to say when I say an article titled How to Get Through Sugar Withdrawal: 11 Steps (with Pictures), I will admit if I am going to need 11 steps and pictures, to get through this, I am a bit worried.

The weather so beautiful today and fortunately I had sampling scheduled at a facility. I do hope to get back in time to take advantage of the sunshine. Saturday morning before roomie and I headed to McCormick to visit daughter and SIL (son-in-law),  I did the Friday workout Carioroutines posted on Instagram – substituting jumping jacks for the burpees. (I only had 30 minutes and the burpees alone would have taken that.) I am not sure which one of the exercises affected my buns, but boy did they and I consider that a win.

If you remember Friday when I discovered that buying precooked ham without sugar was not possible and ended up purchasing a fresh ham and cooking it; I finally made the soup tonight that started the ham conundrum.  I popped a making of Sweet Potato-Onion Bread in the bread machine, yes I know my Mom is looking down from her cloud shaking her head, but it’s the machine or nothing, with no sugar, and it as a wonderful healthy meal.

Black-Eye Pea Soup with Ham and Mustard Greens

This recipe is adapted from minimalist cooks dinner by Mark Bittman.

 2 Tab extra virgin olive oil

1 ½ cup diced ham (Omit for vegetarian)

1 medium onion, ch0pped

2 cups cooked fresh or frozen black-eye peas

2 cups greens (recipe calls for watercress but I used flat leaf mustard greens*) – washed and cut into ½ inch wide strips

1 beef bouillon (Veggie bouillon)

4 cups water

Salt / Pepper

Pinch red pepper flakes (optional)

  •  Sauté onions in olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat until tender.
  • Add water, peas, greens, red pepper flakes, and ham. Cook until greens are tender.

*I stopped by Heritage Farms, 10350 Broad River Road, Irmo, Friday and they had some beautiful fresh flat leaf mustard, fresh rutabagas, and red chard. I get a bit carried away when I see beautiful fresh veggies.

A whole lot of water and Metamucil.

230 days and 26.52 pounds to Disney Food & Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

