It Must Be Spring!

First Happy Birthday to my favorite daughter. Before anyone judges me who’s not aware she is my only daughter. I am also proud to say my sugar experiment showed results, actually 1.6 pounds of negative results.  I am thrilled, and will be more thrilled to see if it works for two weeks in a row. I did have some white wine and beers this week, but not as much so I hope to be proof that weight can be loss without giving up everything you enjoy eating or drinking.

Well it’s the first day of spring. How did I know other than the calendar, I had to cut grass which meant I had to cuss and fuss with the lawnmower. Ever season it’s a battle. Today I had to take the battery leads off to remove the rust because I could not even boost it off, but the fasteners were so rusted. As always one side unscrewed and came off immediately, but the bolt on the other would not bulge. So what does a self-sufficient girl turn to, well if my Daddy was still alive it would be him, but since he is not, my trusted dremel. I love my dremel tool and today I used it to saw the bolt off then used some baking soda and water cleaned the connectors, re-installed the battery, added air to the flat tire, hooked up the jumper cables, and once again I conquered the lawnmower. Aw the thrills of spring

Almost every Friday night if we are home, we have made homemade pizza for dinner. A tradition for about 20 years; no kidding. We hardly ever buy a pizza. Making a healthy crust is quite easy and you control the sugar and oil. I am giving you a twofer today. I use both of these dough recipes. One makes a super crispy crust, but requires planning ahead and sometimes, even though we know what we are having I don’t always make the dough far enough ahead. You will see when you read the recipe. The other is my go-to recipe.

Pizza Dough #1

I saw this recipe in The Food Matters Cookbook by Mark Bittman, when I was reading it, and thought it had to be a misprint. Ttried it and it was no misprint, it was great. This makes enough for 2 medium pizzas. I always make two, one pepperoni for roomie and one veggie pizza.

 2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour (more if needed)

½ tsp. yeast

1 tsp salt

2 Tab olive oil

  • Combine flours, yeast, and salt in a large bowl. Stir in 1 ½ cups water. The dough should be relatively sticky and wet, similar to biscuit batter. If not add a little more water.
  • Scrape down the sides of the bowl, cover with a clean dish towel, and put in a warm spot. (I always leave mine on the counter.) Let down sit for at least 6 hours or up to 12 hours. (The longer it ferments, the more complex the flavor.)
  • When you are ready, heat the oven to 450o. Generously oil a pizza sheet. Dust your hands with flour and fold the dough over in the bowl a few times. It will be sticky, but resist the urge to use more flour, simply dust your hands again when necessary. If you are making small individual pizzas divide the dough in quarters. Gently press the dough onto the pizza sheet. It tastes the same if it is round or not.
  • Brush the dough with the olive oil and add toppings of your choice.
  • Bake 8 – 12 minutes or until the crust is crisp and the cheese melted.

Pizza Dough #2 – Go-To Dough

I have been using this dough since 1980. It is perfect if you like your dough a bit more chewy. As you can tell I don’t have an actual recipe to copy so I will write it like I make it. This makes two medium pizzas or one large pizza.

 1 cup hot water (not boiling or it will kill your yeast, but hot from the spigot)

1 Tbs. yeast

1 tsp salt

1 Tbs. sugar

1 Tbs. oil

Mix the yeast with the hot water, add salt, sugar, and oil to a medium size bowl. Mix well with a fork.

This is where it is not an exact science. I first add 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour and mix well, then 1 cup all-purpose flour and mix again. I then add whole wheat flour until it is the texture of pizza dough. You will know. Let it sit for about 15-20 minutes, then press onto 2 greased pizza pans or one large pizza shape and add the toppings of your choice.

Bake at 425o for 10-15 minutes or until the bottom is brown and the cheese is melted.

A lot of water and Metamucil.

226 days and 24.92 pounds (Aa Austin Powers would say “Yeah Baby”) till Disney Food & Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Must Be Spring!

  1. Pingback: Personal Preference | Food & Wine Minus 30

Leave a Reply

