Why Yes I Will Have Some Chocolate

I am still on a high from Friday’s weigh-in results; however Saturday I had a major sugar craving. So I did some research and found the perfect solution, chocolate, sweet, and no processed sugar.

I was really into 4-H during the ages of 8-18. Several reasons; other than youth group at church and softball there wasn’t a lot of options, I lived on a farm and it was appropriate, I certainly didn’t go “hang-out” because my parents figured if I had nothing to do I could be working on the farm, and I was (read as still am) competitive and loved competing against other 4-Hers throughout the State and Nation. And thanks for wondering, yes, I won several National trips representing SC.  Okay back to my sweet craving; after I realized the sweet craving was not going away and needed to be fed or I was going to all into the trap of eating everything in the house and still eat something sweet, I did some Pinterest browsing. Lo and behold I saw a recipe I made in 4-H years ago and loved, No Bake Chocolate Cookies, and they were made with honey instead of the cup of white processed sugar the recipe I have calls for. I have made the original recipe several times in the last six to eight months and ate all of them which could have something to do with why I have this extra 30 pounds (excuse me 24.92 pounds), but who’s judging? I was thrilled and got to work. I mixed them up and popped them in the refrigerator to chill then headed for a 4 mile walk and added in 40 push-ups on the stadium bleachers at the middle school track. (Bonus, my arms are rebelling today so lifting a fork is another challenge I had not planned on.) This way I had a “prize” waiting for me when I finished. Success, they tasted the same and no processed sugar. HEAVEN! And thank-you I did not eat them all. There are some still left, which is amazing.

I have really learned I have a lot of options if I take some time and a do a little research. I am also starting not minding the excessive water I have been drinking. As I was perusing the world-wide web yesterday, I noticed an article titled This is What Happens to Your Body When You Stop Drinking Soda. I only drank maybe one, two tops diet coke (32 oz) per day, but this article was enough for me to know I was on the right track. I can honestly say I haven’t even missed it the last couple of days.

No Sugar No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

These only take a few minutes to make and sit in the refrigerator.

 1 cup natural (no sugar added) peanut butter

3/4 cup honey

½ cup butter

2 tsp. vanilla

2 ½ cup quick oats

6 Tab. cocoa

Melt butter in a saucepan large enough for the oats to be stirred in. Add peanut butter and honey. Stir using a whisk until well mixed, not boiling. Add vanilla and cocoa. Mix well.

  • Pour oats into mixture and stir until well mixed. Be sure to get all the oats mixed in.
  • Drop by Tablespoons on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Pop in the refrigerator until set.
  • Store in an air tight container. I cut the wax paper I used on the sheet to fit the container and put between layers.

Water and Metamucil.

223 days and 24.92 pounds till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Yes I Will Have Some Chocolate

  1. redwhinerunner says:

    So proud of you for giving up soda!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

