Quiet Please!

Today started off not only cold, but also weary. I got in a good long walk yesterday and did 40 push-ups on the bleachers at the local middle school athletic field. I can only imagine what people driving by must think. But if I can put a smile on their face, my job is accomplished. I have high hopes for this week being better weight wise. I may have to begin writing down everything I eat again. This does seem to keep me more aware. We will see.

Since I often work from home and don’t have an “office” technically I venture to the local library for a change of scenery and to be honest I often have trouble staying focused at home. Growing up and going to the library at school and the County library, the library was treated as sacred. When did this change? People chat openly, answer their cell phones, which aren’t on silent, and just carry on conversations as though everyone else wants to know their side of the conversation, and this also goes for the staff. Today was an all-time new for me. There were several ladies, who it appeared had gone back to school to get nursing degrees who were studying for an upcoming test. I have no idea how they learned anything because one kept answereing her phone, she had to change her pedicure appointment to Wednesday so her daughter who is in an upcoming pageant at school could take her appointment this afternoon to see if the color she chose looks good with her dress, if you were wondering. And to top that off, they were eating lunch. Yes, chili from Wendy’s. Back in the day, if we raised our voice over an audible level we were scolded or given the evil eye. Am I alone or just getting old? (This is a rhetorical question so please don’t answer.)

Well the cupboards are quite bare and I don’t see grocery shopping on my To-Do List for today, so I will be creative with what I have. I have 2 boneless chicken breasts and some almost sad zucchini in the refrigerator. We finally used the last butternut squash yesterday that has been on the counter for longer than I will say, but it was still perfect. They are quite tough and resilient.

Thai-Style Coconut Curry with Chicken & Zucchini

I keep lite coconut milk at all times. I consider this a staple. And by the way, Big Lots has it always for $1.00 which is a good deal. I will be serving this tonight over cellophane noodles (rice noodles) for two reasons; I cooked black rice yesterday to go in the stuffing for the butternut squash and don’t want rice two nights in a row, and second cellophane noodles are fun. This recipe if from The Classic Zucchini Cookbook which even to my surprise I use often.

 2 Tab. peanut or canola oil

3 Tab. curry paste (I use red or green)

1 large onion, halved & thinly sliced

1 ¼ pound boneless, skinless chicken breast or thighs cut into ¼” strips (Quorn Chick’n Tenders)

2 cloves minced garlic

1 jalapeno, sliced (seeding optional)

1 red bell pepper, julienned (I got about a half of a green one in the ref.)

1 tsp fresh minced ginger

Salt/pepper

3 medium zucchini quarter and sliced

1 ½ cups lite coconut milk

¼ cup fresh cilantro

2 Tab. fresh lime juice

Hot rice or rice noodles

½ cup chopped roasted peanuts

  • In a large Dutch oven heat oil over medium heat. Add the curry paste and onion. Sauté until the onion is translucent, about 5 minutes.
  • Add chicken, garlic, jalapeno, bell pepper, and ginger. Sauté until the chicken is cooked through, about 5 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  • Stir in zucchini, coconut milk, cilantro, and lime juice, and mix until combined with spices. Simmer until the zucchini is tender, about 10 minutes. Taste and adjust salt and pepper if needed.
  • Serve over bed or rice or noodles and garnish with peanuts.

216 days and still 24.92 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

