Can We Get Personal?

The tradition of April Fool’s day is a mystery. There have been many possible explanations but can be proven 100%. Of all these theories, the most likely root of what we now know as April Fools’ Day dates back to Pope Gregory XIII, who reigned from 1572 to 1584. During his time he changed from the Julian calendar in 1582 to the Gregorian calendar which switched New Year’s Day from the end of March to the beginning of January. Those who were not mindful of the change of date and celebrated the old New Year’s Day at the end of March were thus deemed, naturally, April fools. Of all the ones I read I liked this one so I am going with it. Prove me wrong if you wish.

The sunshine makes me hungry for strawberries, local strawberries not ones shipped in a plastic clam shell. I cannot wait to share many recipes with you, but for now we will stick to the fresh asparagus that has made an appearance in SC. My Mama grew asparagus in our shrubbery. No idea why but that where she planted it. She didn’t have alot so as it grew we would harvest it keep it in a glass of water until there was enough to cook for everyone to enjoy.

Let’s get personnel; does your urine smell when you eat asparagus? Well the engineer in me did some research. Obviously I did more research today than work. Asparagus contains a sulphurous compound; you know the one found in rotten eggs, call methanethiol. During digestion, the vegetables sulfurous amino acids break down into smelly chemical compound in ALL people. However, only ¾ of the population can smell it. There, your Jeopardy knowledge for today. My family enjoys asparagus raw and with very simple preparation.

Balsamic Roasted Asparagus

1 pound fresh asparagus

1 Tab olive oil

1 Tab balsamic vinegar

½ tsp kosher salt

½ tsp minced garlic

¼ tsp black pepper

  • Preheat oven to 425o
  • Snap off tough ends of asparagus and wash. Use a jelly-roll pan and lay asparagus in a single layer on pan. Drizzle with oil, add garlic, salt and pepper and roll asparagus in it until well coated.
  • Bake for 5 minutes, then turn. Bake for another 5 minutes. If asparagus is thin, may be done after first 5 minutes.

214 days and still 24.92 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

