In the Eye of the Beholder

Ever find that special deal and you feel like a queen. Happened today at Aldi, 16 chicken legs for $2.08, you read it right $2.08. I prefer dark meat to white meat any day and this was golden. You are never too old to enjoy a chicken leg; and at $0.175 each you will enjoy them. I kept 6 out for roomie and me tonight and parboiled the rest for various uses this weekend; read as I have no idea yet, but will be glad to find cooked chicken in the refrigerator. For people who think they only like white meat, it’s all in the eyes, and preparation.

As I write this I am looking out my kitchen window at a large oak that is ¾ of the way covered with ivy and pollen. Not to mention the side of my house and the entire side of the yard is also covered with ivy. Last summer I had my house painted and the painter told me I should never had planted that ivy, it took him countless laborious hours to get it off the side of the house so he could paint it. I assured him I wanted it gone and now that he had it down I intended to make sure it never grew on the house again once it was painted. I did intend to. This all started with a 2” piece of ivy my daughter brought home from Vacation Bible School when she was 5.  She planted it by the tree and I honestly thought it was too hard and would never grow. I know it’s a problem and I know I probably should do something about it, but when I look out at it I see an old country cottageivy in England with the ivy growing over it. It’s all in perception and the view of how you look at it. Also I am not sure I could kill it if I tried. Several years ago a committee I was on at church was trying to decide what little thing we could give visitors to take home with them to remember their visit to Pisgah. One of the ideas was a small cutting of ivy in a cup with the church’s name. I quickly vetoed the idea.

Also when I went to get my handy store bought bread crumbs to make the coating for the chicken, you will never guess what the second ingredient after wheat flour was; evaporated cane juice. So chunk that quick fix. I had made some bread earlier this week so toasted some up and popped it in the food processor. Why may I ask is there a need to put evaporated cane juice in bread crumbs?

Well fingers crossed for weigh in tomorrow.

Oven Fried Drumsticks

Roomie got excited when he walked in the house. The herbs in coating baking smelled like pizza. He was not quite as excited when I told him it was chicken drumsticks instead, but admitted they were good, but not as good as the pizza he had in his mind.

 8 chicken drumsticks washed and dried

3 Tab. butter

¼ cup flour

2 eggs or egg substitute, whisked

1 cup fine bread crumbs

¼ tsp. oregano

¼ tsp. garlic powder

¼ tsp. onion powder

¼ tsp. black pepper

¼ tsp. basil

½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. paprika

  • Preheat oven to 350o. Put the butter in a flat pan with sides and pop in the oven to melt.
  • Put the flour in one bowl and the eggs in another.
  • Put the bread crumbs and all the seasonings in a zip lock bag and mix well.
  • Dip the drumsticks in the flour, then the egg, then drop in the bag and shake well.
  • Place the drumsticks on the melted butter and bake for 25 minutes, then turn and bake for another 25 minutes. Check for doneness.

213 days and still 24.92 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

