It’s a Male Thing

Being an engineer in the early 80’s I entered a field which was then mostly male. That never bothered me or the guys I worked for and with. I can honestly say I do not think there are jobs which are strictly male or female oriented; however there is one job I say, “Men Only” too, grilling. I can’t say I dislike it because I have never done it nor do I ever plan to do it. When my husband was alive he enjoyed grilling on Saturday evening and that was fine with me. That was half of one meal all week he was responsible for. I cooked the sides and he tended the meat and the grill. Now my son and son-in-law do the grilling and I am pleased. However, I will say I have no problem sitting with a beer in my hand watching anyone grill.

Well I know everyone is waiting for the Friday weigh in results. Good news down 0.8 lb. Almost a pound this week. I am so glad; I was a little concerned after last week that either my body, scale, or both were broken. I know it’s slow but I would rather go this way without giving up everything I like, beer and wine, and not counting every calorie or point. As I always say, great for anyone who can do it.

 Hope everyone has a great Easter.

Grilled Tenderloin

This recipe is from Crazy Plates Cookbook. My son and son-in-law will be grilling this for Saturday dinner.

 ½ cup frozen apple juice concentration, thawed

2 Tbs. honey mustard

1 Tab. dried rosemary (2 Tab. fresh rosemary)

1 Tab. olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 medium onion, minced

¼ tsp. black pepper

1 ½ pound pork tenderloin, fat trimmed

  • Combine all ingredients except pork in a small bowl. Pour marinade over pork in a glass baking dish or large heavy resealable plastic bag. Turn pork to coat it evenly. Marinate for at least 2 hours in refrigerator.
  • Prepare grill. Remove pork from marinade and cook over hot coals for about 15 minutes, turning several times and basting frequently with reserved marinade. Outside should be nicely browned and the inside should still have a trace of pink. (170o internal temperature).
  • Let rest for 5 minutes before slicing.
  • If there is any remaining marinade, bring it to a boil for several minutes then serve with meat.

212 days and 24.12 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

