Traditions

Hope everyone had a great Easter. Our family certainly did. Sorry about missing yesterday. I left home at 5:00 am and returned at 8:15 pm so to say I really had nothing left was an understatement. Does your family have holiday traditions with food? At Thanksgiving we always cook rutabagas because Mama always did.  This is fine with my sister, daughter and me because we love them.  Our Thanksgiving and Christmas meal begins with homemade noodle soup. When Granny Eva as alive she sat on her porch (den) and cut the rolled up noodle dough with a old straight razor into the thinnest noodles you could imagine. (Before you go eeeewwww, it was only used for this purpose. My sister now has this razor which holds a lot of memories.) Now we use a machine to roll and cut the noodles but I always think of Granny Eva sitting on the porch cutting them for the entire family. Easter the tradition is congealed orange jello with shredded carrots and pineapple made in Granny Eva’s glass bowl. I hope these things will always be a part of the holidays even after our children take over the preparation.

I would not say I ate great this weekend, but I didn’t eat horrible either. Hope to get some good exercise in to make sure things do not go backward on Friday. If you haven’t tried the Grilled Tenderloin from Friday’s blog, get on it. It is awesome. I was so excited when I saw fresh strawberries at The Farmer’s Shed and they are so sweet, so there will be many salads with strawberries at our house the next couple of weeks. A lot of people like fruit in their salads, but I am not much on it except for fresh strawberries and mandarin oranges. Hoping time will permit me to get a loaf of fresh focaccia made tomorrow for a great sandwich with a strawberry sauce.

Yogurt-Bran Berry Muffins

We enjoy breakfast to go during the week. I usually try to make fresh healthy muffins at least twice a month. These are our favorite now with fresh strawberries.

 1 cup Fiber One original bran cereal

1 egg, slightly beaten

¼ cup vegetable oil

1 ½ cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt

1 ½ cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup honey

1 ¼ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

¾ cup chopped fresh strawberries

Preheat oven to 400o. Place the cereal in a plastic bag and roll with a rolling pin or hit with a metal pan to crush cereal.

  • Mix cereal, flour, salt, and baking soda in a medium bowl. Add egg, oil, yogurt, and honey. Mix until dry ingredients are moistened. Add strawberries and gently stir.
  • Line muffin tins with liners or spray tins. Divide batter between 12 muffins.
  • Bake 18-20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pan immediately and let cool on rack.

208 days and 24.12 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

