The Incredible Mr. Limpet

Well I have managed to spend a great portion of this day running in circles, and putting out brush fires, so very little has actually been accomplished. Hoping some of that will count as exercise

After roomies “eating healthier” announcement last night I made this salad quickly before he decided changed his mind. It contains some ingredients that both of us would not normally eat alone, but mixed together I decided we would try. After it was made I got roomie to taste it with his eyes closed so he couldn’t judge it by looks or begin sorting out the ingredients individually. I told him if he tried it and ate it for lunch I would eat sushi. He always nags me that growing up I insisted that they at least try new foods with an open mind and I have not lived by my own rules and have avoided sushi (raw fish). My usual defense is that I eat California rolls, which I consider sushi and his usual comeback is, “No it is not”.  He tried it and he took it for lunch; now if he ate it I am sure I will never know.  My one stipulation is raw tuna is as far as I am willing to go, I am not eating eel or any other strange animal. I hope I am not the only fan of the Don Knott’s movie, The Incredible Mr. Limpet. If you have not watched it, my kids point out often that it is always available in the $5.00 bin at Walmart. Very quick version, Henry, Don’s character, has tried to join the Navy several times but can’t pass the physical. After falling into the ocean at Coney Island he turns into a fish and ends up helping the Navy find enemy submarines. During his adventures he falls in love with Ladyfish and Bessie, his human wife, ends ups marrying his best friend (even as a child I thought that was a bit fishy.) The point I am trying to make is that every time I see sushi I think of Henry Limpet. Who knows where that fish has been, what it has seen, and who it might have been previously.

Image result for the incredible mr limpet

Well there is no raw meat in this recipe, just a few sticks and twigs as my best friend Cindy would say. (Fiber I call it.)

California Quinoa Salad

There are a lot of versions of this salad on Pinterest so I don’t exactly know who to credit for it. Supposedly it is a copy of a salad sold on the food bar at Whole Foods. I cannot afford to eat at Whole Foods so I cannot personally attest it is there, but I am sure it is. It makes a lot but keeps great in the refrigerator. Roomie took it for lunch today and I am sure we will be eating off it this weekend.

 1 cup quinoa

2 cups water

½ package frozen mango (I diced this up finer to distribute better)

¼ large red onion, diced

½ medium red pepper, diced

½ small bunch cilantro, diced

¾ cup unsweetened coconut

½ cup unsalted dry-roasted slivered almonds

1 ½ cups frozen edamame, thawed

2 limes

2 Tab. balsamic vinegar

Salt/pepper

Cook quinoa in the 2 cups water per package directions. Fluff with a fork when done and put in bowl to cool.

  • Add other ingredients, mix well.
  • Refrigerate for several hours for flavors to mix.

206 days and 24.12 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

