Judgement Day May Be Coming Sooner Than Later

Yesterday was a lazy kind of day for me. After early service I finished cutting the side field, yes I said field then just hung out. When I was growing up, we would never have cut grass on Sunday. If we did anything after Church and lunch it was “visiting the old people” with my parents. I was a bit of a later in life child, so I was not-so-happily included in the Sunday visits to my Grandparents, and various other “old” people’s homes. I wasn’t one for sitting still so this was pure torture for me. My Mama’s parents were poor so they had absolutely nothing to do at their house. I always hoped my cousin Brenda would also be drug there. Then, glorious Alleluia’s, one of our parents bought us a badminton set and all was good at the Roof’s house on Sunday, if we both were there. They lived on a dirt road which had no traffic, so we would draw a court in the dirt, make up our own rules and we were set. My Daddy’s parents lived across the road from us, so I went over there about every day. My Granddaddy Rawl was so fun and he loved his grandkids. He kept ice cream in his freezer and a big box of ice cream cones so anytime of the day when any grandchild would drop by, they left with an ice cream cone; regardless if it was lunch time. Mama knew it was of no use to approach Granddaddy about this and Daddy was out also, so she threatened me about going over there and getting ice cream before meals. All I had to do was go to the barn on my way back across the road and she never knew. Wonder why I was a chubby kid? We visited on Sundays and maybe went to get Daddy a root beer float at A&W (to this day I cannot stand the smell of root beer), Mama a froze ice cream Peppermint Patty at Clamp’s gas station (oddly enough I don’t do peppermint either), and me an ice cream cone from Hite’s dairy bar. Other than that it was the only day my Daddy didn’t work. There were no stores open so we certainly didn’t shop. If you needed something and didn’t buy it on Saturday, you were out of luck unless you borrowed it. Parts of those Sunday’s I miss because it was a special day; even if were visiting old people we spent time with each other. Now, too often, it is just another day to get work done.

However, I was worried that yesterday was the long awaited Judgement Day, roomie cooked dinner. Before I even got lunch ready he asked what was for lunch and dinner; I informed him I had leftovers for lunch and dinner would consist of whatever he cooked. Both my kids are good cooks; roomie just needs to be motivated. He made up his own recipe and it was wonderful so I decided to share it.

Turkey, Zucchini, Egg Hash

It had no name so I decided to be descriptive.

 

1 lb. ground turkey (optional)

1 large zucchini, sliced, quartered, cut into ½ inch quarters

½ medium red onion, diced

1 Tab. garlic

4 eggs, beaten

Salt/pepper

1 avocado – ripe

Juice of 1/2 lime

½ jalapeno, finely chopped (optional)

1 tsp garlic

Brown the turkey in a large skillet. After it is browned, remove to a paper toweled lines bowl.

  • While the turkey is browning make the guacamole: half avocado, remove pit, scoop out meat into bowl. Add lime juice, garlic, jalapeno (if using), salt/pepper to taste, and mix well. Set aside.
  • After removing the turkey, add zucchini, garlic, onion, and salt/pepper. Cook until tender-crisp. Add browned turkey back in and heat through. Pour eggs in and stir until eggs are scrambled and mixed in. Taste for seasoning.
  • Serve in bowls with guacamole on top.

I would suggest making mends where needed just in case roomie was few days off with the Judgement Day thing…….

202 days and 24.12 pounds to go till Disney Food and Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

