Bananas

Rain, rain and more rain; even though I am in the “water” business, I am tired of rain. I just finished cutting my yard and the front and side field and it will be time again once the ground dries out. And did I mention that my lawnmower motor threw a rod, so it is headed for the “car crusher” place? Someone needs to buy my house.

I was thinking this morning as I was making my smoothie, same one every morning for the last 4, about bananas. Who don’t you will probably ask yourself? I am not a big fruit person per say. My daughter and son-in-law enjoy every fruit and roomie has to be forced or tricked into eating a piece of fruit (but will eat every veggie known to man). I have informed him for years that limes in a beer really does not count, but if we didn’t count those limes, often we wouldn’t have any fruit to count. I like watermelon, strawberries, blueberries, cantaloupe, and red apples when they are in season in SC; other than that a good banana and a Cutie orange. I also like my fruit to be room temperature and not cold when I eat it. I will get a bowl of watermelon and/or cantaloupe out of the refrigerator and let it sit on the island until it comes to room temperature before I eat it. I guess I am a “sensitive” person in spite of what the personality test reveal. Back to the bananas, Mama had a banana plant that every Fall before frost we dug up, wrapped it in burlap, and put it under the house for winter, then in Spring we would drag it out and plant it back at the same place in our yard. I looked a million times for bananas on that bush and one summer it produced a bunch of “banana-ish things” which thrilled me. They were not edible but it really didn’t matter; because far as I was concerned we had grown bananas in SC. We eat bananas at all stages in the banana color spectrum at our house. We eat them from greenish to brownish and every color in between. If any every get to the point no one can eat them, and I assure you that is almost liquid, I just peel them, wrap it in plastic wrap, and pop it in the freezer for smoothies.

Like I mentioned I have been having this same smoothie for the last 4 mornings and it hits the spot. Give it a try with froze or fresh banana and strawberries. I had this with two Pumpkin Mocha Muffins this morning and even the rain seemed to vanish (wrong).

Strawberry/Banana Smoothie

1 frozen or fresh banana

5-7 fresh large strawberries (They have been super large and sweet this year.)

¾ cup unsweetened almond milk

½ cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt

7-9 ice cubes (Add more if you prefer it to be frostier)

Large handful fresh spinach (And I mean large)

  •  Put it all in blender and let it blend until smooth.

200 days and 24.12 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

