Pudding Time

Made a quick trip to Aldi today to pick up a few things for some granola bars; I was an Aldi supporter before it was “cool”. (If you thought of Barbara Mandrel when you read that raise your hand.) I often hear people say that they can’t stand Aldi because they don’t want to “rent” a buggy, or it makes them nervous. Anytime I can purchase quality food items and stay within my budget, I have no issues with putting a quarter in the buggy, you get it back people, and take my own bags. I also love Trader Joe’s. We finally got one in Columbia, but for years we would make a trip to Charlotte three or four times a year to purchase certain items we like and wine. I think it isn’t a coincidence that Trader Joe’s owns Aldi; they both make shopping fun. I have no issues with grocery shopping but I hate putting groceries up when I get home. Just like when I was living at home, I would hand wash the dishes so I wouldn’t have to empty the dishwasher. Weird I know but I am what I am.

Well trying something new this week. Getting up and doing an exercise routine first thing in the morning. I have found I am great at talking myself out it by the afternoon. Hey, I am trying, need good results this week.

I made this recipe last night and had roomie taste it. He didn’t say much, but this morning when I came down, he left for school at 5:30, I noticed the empty container in the sink. Later this evening he asked if there would be some more of the “pink stuff” for breakfast. Jackpot.

strawberry chia

Strawberry Chia Pudding

This rain is not doing the strawberries any good. They are literally rotting in the field with amount of water they are taking on. So let’s enjoy them while we can. This recipe makes 4 pint servings. I put each serving in a pint jar with a lid. They will keep for 4 days in the refrigerator. This is a version of a recipe from Tone It Up. Just to let you know, the texture is kind of pasty. Just get over it.

 1 cup fresh (or frozen) strawberries

½ cup unsweetened coconut

1 ½ cup coconut water (or water)

1/3 cup honey

¼ tsp salt

¾ cup white or black chia seed (the best price for these are Trader Joe’s or Aldi)

Put all ingredients except the chia seed in a blender and blend on high until smooth. Transfer to a bowl.

  • Slowly mix in chia seed. If you have never worked with chia seed before, they will form a “gooey” texture when wet. This is what will thicken the pudding. Mix well.
  • Pour into 4 containers, cover, and refrigerate. It needs to set for a minimum of 30 minutes.

  195 days and 242.12 lbs till Disney Food & Wine Festival.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pudding Time

  1. scott says:

    Actually, Aldi and Trader Joe’s were started by brothers in Germany. One took the north, the other the south. Both have grown but Aldi is one of the biggest grocery chains inv the world!

    Like

  2. Susan Jordan says:

    So do you still hand wash dishes? I do, only use dishwasher rairly. Thanks for your posting, I am trying to drop those pounds too. Can’t wait till garden produces this year.

    Like

  3. rosestancil says:

    I wash more than I put in the dishwasher however roomie puts everything in the dishwasher and some of them have to be rewashed
    Just wash them the first time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

