Poetical Rhapsody

“Absence makes the heart grow fonder” is how I am going to start. Work can really get in the way of what I really want to be when I grow up. Just in case you have not learned anything new yet today, and that would be such a shame, the quote, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder” was first published in Poetical Rhapsody in 1602, by Francis Davison; however Davison did not author the specific poem which began with these words. The author was anonymous and the identity of the writer is unknown still today.  There ya go, got you some learning.

The weather is perfect; I could sit outside and sneeze all day. The sunshine is great for my basil, spearmint, and my crop of dandelions. One of these I intentionally want to grow, one I did want to grow outside the pot it was planted in, and the other shows God has a sense of humor. My spearmint jumped the pot years ago and is a constant battle and I am convinced that dandelions will be the last plant to survive on earth alongside the cockroach. I have observed that they flourish in excessive rain, drought, and heat. We love fresh basil and I make sure to have it all through the growing season, which is pretty long in SC. When it gets more than we can use, I make pesto which will keep in the refrigerator for quite a while.

So far I am still doing a workout routine each morning. If I don’t see some “bigger” results tomorrow, I am not going to be a happy camper. Say a little prayer for me and roomie.

Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry

This is one of my families’ favorite meals.  I almost always use brown rice over white, but this is one of those exceptions; the recipe calls for jasmine rice, which I prefer in Asian foods.

2 cups uncooked jasmine rice

1 qt. water

¾ cup coconut milk (I usually use the entire can because I see no need in wasting it and I may not use the leftover before it goes bad.)

3 Tab. soy sauce

3 Tab. rice wine vinegar

1 ½ Tab. fish sauce (Omit for vegetarian)

¾ tsp red pepper flakes

1 Tab. olive oil

1 med. onion sliced

2 Tab. minced ginger (bottled in produce department is fine)

3 cloves minced garlic

2 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs or breast cut into ½ inch pieces (Quorn Chik’n Tenders)

5 green onions, white and green chopped

1 ½ cup chopped fresh basil leaves

Cook rice in water according to package directions.

  • While rice is cooking; mix soy sauce, coconut milk, rice wine vinegar, fish sauce (if using), and red pepper flakes in a small bow.
  • In large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Stir in the onions, ginger, and garlic; cook until lightly browned. Add chicken and cook about 3 minutes or until just about done. Stir coconut mixture well and add to pan. Continue to cook until sauce is reduced about 1/3. Add green onions and basil and cook until heated through. Serve over rice.

192 days and 24.12 lbs. till Disney Food & Wine. (If anyone noticed I accidently put 242.12 lbs on Monday thanks for not saying anything.)

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

