Monsters & Shepherds

I came from a family of four; my parents, my sister, and I. My sister has three girls and I have a daughter and son, so I never expected to have 11, soon to be 12, great nieces and nephews ranging from 19 to 2. Keep in mind, my children have no children yet, so these are all off-springs of my sister’s three daughters. Family dinners are quite loud and messy, but so much fun. Each one of the kids is so different, yet I see so many of the same qualities in each of them also. But I must say I love them deeply and they know they have me wrapped around their finger. They have entertained me for years with some of the things they say. I have quotes from each one of them that I can tell you exactly where we were when they said it. Some are funny, some are sassy, and some are just precious. Last Sunday at church we had a combined service, one service at 10 am instead of two. I attend the early service and my youngest niece and her family attends the 10:45 so I rarely see them at church. We have always sat on the second from the front row since my children were little. I told them the preacher would see them if they misbehaved. It was worth a try. During the children’s service, my youngest great nephew Wyatt (2 1/2) and his sister LeeAnn (6) was sitting on the steps in front of the church and I experienced one of those moments when I knew what Wyatt’s memory would be. Deborah, our Children’s Minister, had a shepherds crook and asked the children if they had ever seen one of these and what it was used for. LeeAnn so politely raised her hand and said it was used by the shepherds to keep their sheep. A short time later, Deborah went on to say the shepherds could use it also to fight back wild animals that might attack the sheep also. She had no sooner said this than Wyatt came alive; he has some of the biggest eyes ever when he gets excited, and very animated and loudly said, “They can use it to fight monsters when they come to get them, too.” He was so serious, and LeeAnn was so embarrassed sitting next to him. Gosh those times are so funny when it’s is someone else’s kid. Those few words and facial expression have given me laughs and smiles several times already this week. His enthusiasm and belief was so real. So remember if you want someone to remember one or two things you say forever, say it with conviction and enthusiasm. Or at least loudly.

I am finally beginning to feel a bit of difference in my clothes. This is good, but it is also a point I have to be careful with. I have felt a difference before and somehow I took that as an opportunity to eat more since my clothes were looser. So hang with me through this new “phase”. I hope I am not the only one who has been there?

Curried Chickpea, Broccoli, and Beans

This is a healthy and quick vegetarian dinner. If you think you need meat, add some rotisserie chicken; however the beans and rice make a perfect protein.

 

1 cup brown rice

2 cups water

1 head broccoli, cut into florets

12 baby carrots

1 small onion, diced

1 Tab. olive oil

2 tsp grated ginger

2 tsp. curry powder

1 can stewed tomatoes

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

Salt / pepper

Cook rice in water per package directions.

  • Add broccoli and carrots to steamer basket and steam until tender.
  • Heat oil over medium-high in a large nonstick skillet; add onions, ginger, and curry powder. Cook 2 minutes, then add tomatoes, chickpeas, black beans, and salt and pepper to taste. Simmer on low for 10 minutes.
  • Add steamed vegetables and stir.
  • Serve over rice.

187 days and 22.92 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

