Preserved

Preservatives are in everything and if their purpose in processed food is to make the shelf life longer, why doesn’t it make our body’s shelf life longer? Ponder on that a while. One of my nieces is a registered dietician; several years ago she purchased a child’s meal from a local popular chain burger chain and left the hamburger and fries open on her counter and 6 months later they both looked the exact same. I am no chemist but for this to happen the “food” would have to be more preservatives than food.  Our bodies were made to break food down to obtain the nutrients, not to attempt to break down chemicals. One good example is the often used Cream of ______ (insert whichever you would like). I cannot remember the last time I purchased a can of this food product. Have you read the ingredients? What the heck are they? I do know that no soup needs potassium chloride.  I make my own Cream of Whatever when I need it for a recipe. Mine has a maximum of 5 ingredients; one of which is not potassium chloride, compared to the long list of ingredients on a can of the congealed gelatinous stuff.  It takes about 5 minutes to make from start to finish. The basic recipe is in the recipe below and I added instructions to make cream of mushrooms or celery. It smells so good and I can bet you have never said that when you opened a can of the store purchased kind before.

cream of

Stancil Chicken & Waffles

This is a Stancil original. I use my crockpot often. When the kids were in every sport or extra curriculum activity I refused to pick up dinner from a drive-thru or pop a frozen casserole in the oven. I used my crockpot almost every night during the week. This is still one of our favorites.

 1 large chicken breast

1 can mushrooms, drained

1 can green chilies, undrain

1 tsp salt

Ground pepper

1 Tab minced garlic

½ medium onion, roughly chopped

1 making Cream of Whatever (recipe follows)

1 cup frozen green peas (sugar peas in my house)

Cornbread Waffles (recipe follows)

Cream of Whatever

3 Tab butter

2 ½ Tab flour

½ cup skim milk

½ cup chicken broth (I use ½ cup water and ½ tsp chicken bouillon) (veggie broth)

*For cream of mushroom, simply cut up ½ pound of white or crimini mushrooms, and sauté in butter until soft, then add milk and broth.

**For cream of celery, simply add ½ cup sliced celery to butter and sauté until soft, then continue with recipe.

Rinse and dry chicken breast and place in bottom of crockpot.

  • Add all other ingredients on top of chicken. Lift chicken with spoon to make sure some of the ingredients are under the chicken. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. When you unplug the crockpot add the green peas in, stir, cover, and let sit for about 15 minutes. Shred chicken when done.
  • Serve over Waffles with shredded cheddar cheese

Cornbread Waffles

¾ cup cornmeal

¼ cup all-purpose flour

½ cup whole wheat flour

1 ¼ tsp baking powder

1 Tab sugar

1 egg

¾ cup skim milk

1/8 cup butter, melted

¾ cup frozen corn, thawed

Preheat waffle iron.

  • Stir first 5 ingredients together. Add rest of ingredients.
  • Bake in waffle iron until crisp

186 days and 22.92 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

