Expiration Dates

Well today has been another picturesque day. Let’s hope it holds out thru next weekend. My son-in-laws brother is getting married at Fripp Island and roomie and I were fortunate enough to be invited and I am looking forward to a beautiful weekend. We are so excited for Jen and Mark.

Well I made a quick visit to The Farmer’s Shed today and saw a wonderful site, SC zucchini and yellow squash. It is about to bust open with fresh produce and some good healthy eats. I have so many fresh recipes for summer I can hardly wait. (This is the point where each of you say, “Me too.”)

Once again listening to NPR I heard the most interesting and frustrating talk about expiration dates on foods. I will openly admit, I never look at expiration dates on the items in my pantry or refrigerator. I can tell soon as I open it if it’s bad; I do not need a printed date for that. I have seen people throw out perfectly good food because it was a month past the expiration date. The Department of Agriculture requires expiration dates on all food, but the food companies often use a date way before the necessary expiration date. They claim it is just to be cautious; however, I agree with the food expert that it is so consumers will throw it out before it’s time or before it’s empty and purchase another. Instead of being about consumers’ safety, it’s more about sales. (Shock I know.) I always laugh when I see expiration dates on items like bleu cheese, what is it going to do “rot” more? That is a good thing. To be honest, as I stated above, I pay very little dates to expiration dates, except when my skim milk is bad before the expiration date, then I return it for another, but roomie hardly lets a gallon of milk stay more than three days. I do not recommend this, but I remember growing up when Mama sealed the jelly she made by pouring paraffin on top of the jars then sealing the jars. By the beginning of spring if you opened a jar and it had mold under the paraffin, we would just scoop it off and never thought anymore about it. I do believe our bodies were a bit tougher than now. I guess we all have an expiration date of sorts but I am determined to go as long past mine as possible.

Greek Layered Slaw

I know I have mentioned in a previous blog that my family enjoys slaw, but not with mayo. We prefer a marinated slaw. This is one I will be making to take to the lake in a few weeks for son-in-laws birthday party. When you first pour the marinade on, it will look like there isn’t enough, but it will be fine. I just try to turn the container over and shake it every so often when I open the refrigerator. This is adapted from a Layered Slaw recipe in Southern Living 1993 Annual Recipes.

 

1 medium head cabbage, shredded

1 medium onion, halved then sliced thinly

2 large tomatoes or 5 roma tomatoes cut half, then each half into fourths

2 pickling or 1 hot-house cucumber, halved and sliced

1 small yellow or red bell pepper, cut into thin strips

1 (4-ounce) can sliced black olives, drained

1 jar artichokes, roughly chopped

¾ cups crumbled feta cheese

  • Add all these to large bowl and mix with clean hands.

Marinade

2/3 cup olive oil

1/3 cup red wine vinegar

2 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp ground cumin

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

Mix together in a jar with a lid and shake well.

  • Pour over vegetables and stir well
  • Cover and refrigerate for at least 8 hours. Stir well before serving.

185 days and 22.92 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

