5K-ing

Well not great news today; plus 0.2 pounds. I am pretty sure until some of the stress I am having in my life presently is relieved, I may be fighting an uphill battle, but I am a fighter. I am not exactly down about it, more ambivalent. It will get done, and I am sure of that.

I signed up to do the Crawfish 5K tomorrow at the Rosewood Crawfish Festival. I did this one several years ago and it is a pretty good course. I have actually run a good bit this week so we will see. I have no inspirations of winning, just finishing and not finishing last.

My daughter talked me into the Disney Princess Half Marathon the first year it was held in February 2009. I distinctly remember I had to try to get back into running and we were running in June of 2008 in the new subdivision next to our field on a Sunday, probably more like she had finished running and had come back to walk with me, when she said, “I am going to sing up and run the Disney Princess Half Marathon in February”, and why I will never know my response was, “I will do it with you.” So after I had committed I talked my best friend Cindy into participating also. Company loves misery. We trained hard and long, but we did it. I can’t tell you how crossing the finish line fills but it is a natural high. Five years later, for some unknown reason, Cindy and I agreed to do it again; pretty sure it was just for the trip, food, wine, and beer. Roomie and now son-in-law ran also. Time was drastically worse than prior half, but we finished. I am pretty sure my daughter, son, and son-in-law could have taken a bus back to the room, changed and came back to meet us, but they were there cheering us across the line. The first half we ran had 2,500 participants, the second had 25,000. I don’t know if I will do another half, but I intend to do more 5k’s. When my daughter was living at home, she was a good motivator for me because she is a runner. She had a daily schedule we followed 6 days a week. I have tried several other plans since she has moved out, but I am a slow starter for races and a strong finisher. Most of the plans begin you running 5 minutes on day one. Well I cannot do that and I am pretty sure anyone who has wanted to try to train for a 5K and never ran at all can’t either. It can get very discouraging; so I am in the process of developing a 5K plan for beginners that starts easier, but gets you across the finish line. As all plans do, it takes dedication and training 6 days a week. I may be looking for a few volunteers for 6 weeks soon, so get ready.

This weekend looks like beautiful weather and I am so excited. I refuse to cut grass so I hope to get some “fun” chores off my list. I intend to do a lot of cooking. I like having meals or at least most of the meals complete for several days. This way I don’t grab something less healthy.

Ribbon Squash Salad

Remember yesterday I told you The Farmer’s Shed had SC squash – so excited. Roomie is off to Ashville this weekend, so this will be most of my dinner tonight along with a glass of Chardonnay. (Half recipe for one.)

 2 small zucchini

2 small yellow squash

½ small red onion, sliced very thin

2 Tab lemon juice

1 Tab olive oil

1 Tab honey

Salt & Pepper

Make vinaigrette by blending the lemon juice, olive oil, honey, salt, and pepper together in a bowl with a whisk

  • Using a mandolin, spiralizer, or a y-shaped vegetable peeler, slice or shave the squash into thin ribbons. As they are cut, drop them into the bowl with the vinaigrette. Add onion and stir gently to coat all squash and onions.
  • Top with shaved parmesan if desired.
  • This needs to be eaten soon after preparation, if not the squash tend to get mushy. The tender crunchy is what makes it so yummy.

(Big sigh) 184 days and 23.12 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

Hey I am a math person and I just figured this is still only 0.1256 lbs per day, or 0.8792 lbs per week. Math always makes me feel better.)

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

