Goodbye Charlie

I am so excited I can hardly type fast enough to let you know what I discovered this weekend, actually yesterday. I don’t like fish, but I force myself to eat it about once a month. (See 3.25.15 blog.) I especially don’t (or didn’t) like canned tuna. It was always so “fishy”. But yes a fortyish, ish, ish person can learn something new. I was reading one of my girl crush blogs, Skinny Taste, and she was talking about buying a better brand of canned tuna, and in oil. I never really thought about it, but I always purchased the kind canned in water, then added oil, silly. I found the tuna at the local Publix, and it was not very expensive, and what a difference it made. It was actually good, really good, so goodbye Charlie. I made the recipe below Sunday evening after a 5 mile walk/jog and ate it all. Offered roomie some but he declined and for I was glad.

I can’t top this excitement today so I will not even try.

tuna

Tuna Salad

I found this recipe, and article, at Skinny Taste. The only thing I did different was to add onion, when you grow up on an onion farm you add onions to everything, and omitted the lemon juice. It is recommended to put in a mason jar at night with lettuce on top for “ready to go lunch”.

 1 can (5 oz) Tonno Genova tuna in olive oil, drained, but reserve oil

½ cup cooked brown rice

4 oz of froze classics veggie mix (carrots, peas, beans, butterbeans, etc.) I bought mine at Aldi. I poured 4 oz in a glass bowl, added water, and microwaved it for 3 minutes, then drained.

1/8 cup chopped black olives

1 Tab capers & 1/2 tsp brine

¼ Tab olive oil from can

1/8 cup chopped onion

(Recipe called for lemon juice which I did not use.)

Mix all ingredients together. Serve over chopped romaine lettuce, spinach, or both

  • If taking to lunch put in bottom of quart mason jar and add lettuce to top

181 days and 23.12 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

