That’s One Big Box of Chicken

Well once again work has gotten in the way of my blog. Come on lottery, help me out here. I am in the process of developing a Customer Service Certificate Program for Utility Customer Service employees across the country. I have focused days and not-so-focused days, but I tend to do my best work when under a strict timeline and that time has arrived.

I am not expecting too much from the scales tomorrow. I have put in a lot of miles this week, but have not made the best choices food wise. However, some things have not changed:

  • I still have not had a soft drink for several months. The urge is much better.
  • I am very aware of processed foods and still doing a good job of eliminating them all together. I do not consider beer or wine processed foods however.

My church has five rotating Funeral Food Committees which prepare food for the family after the service. One of Pisgah’s long time members passed away Saturday night; the funeral was yesterday and it was my committee’s time to prepare the meal. Hazel called Monday to see if I and a cousin would be responsible for one of the two meats. The Derrick’s always do a ham so she asked for 30 pieces of fried chicken; well I am always ready to do my part but I like my usual two dozen deviled eggs part. Disclaimer, this country cooking lady has never in her life fried a piece of chicken for several reasons; one it’s just not healthy and two I cannot stand the smell of fried foods in my house. So I dropped by the local Walmart, on advice of many people that they have good fried chicken and reasonably priced, Monday afternoon to put in my order. So yesterday at 2:45 yesterday I arrived to pick up said chicken, and this very nice tiny little lady, looked at me and so sweetly asked, “Who did you bring to help you carry it honey?” So many things crossed my mind immediately, such as, how much chicken did she think I ordered, oh my gosh I ordered 50 pieces (cheaper to go with the 50 piece than 30) not 50 chickens, what the heck did they do with this chicken that I need help carrying it? Well thank goodness I had enough meat on my bones to carry the largest greasiest box of fried chicken I believe I have ever saw, much less purchased, in my life. I used the new Self-Checkout so that no one would wonder if all that chicken was mine or if we eat like that all the time. Since I had a few extra pieces, I kept four pieces out for to go with the fresh green beans I had cooked for dinner for roomie and me. Yes I regretted it when I went to bed, and I knew I would, but sometimes we just have to be reminded why fried foods are not good for us. On a side note though, the chicken was good, but the quoted price was off by $10.Also I need to make a change to a previous blog, Monsters & Shepherds, 4.28.15. I stated what I thought to be a fact, “have 11, soon to be 12, great nieces and nephews ranging in age from 19 to 2”. Well one incorrect piece of information in that statement that I was corrected on is the ages range from 19 to 3, not 2. Who the heck can keep up, one is having a birthday every other week. I apologize to Wyatt and Evelyn, who are both 3. Another false statement I just learned this week would be instead of soon to be 12, it is soon to be 13. By the time my children begin to have babies, they will have more than enough capable baby-sitters available.

Veggie Quesadillas

This is what roomie and I are having for dinner tonight. Hopefully it will negate the fried chicken from yesterday.

 ½ cup fresh mushrooms, sliced                           1 medium zucchini, ¼” sliced

½ cup green onions, sliced                                                2 ears corn, kernels removed

2 medium tomatoes, seeded & diced                   1 tsp dried basil

¾ tsp salt                                                                  1/4 tsp pepper

6 flour tortillas (8”)                                                            2 cup Mexican blend cheese

Preheat oven to 400o. Spray a large skillet with cooking spray and sauté mushrooms, onions, corn, and zucchini until tender. Add tomatoes, basil, salt, and pepper. Cook 2-3 minutes longer until heated through. Remove sautéed veggies to a colander to drain out any excess liquid. Spoon some veggie mixture onto half of tortilla, sprinkle with cheese and fold tortilla over. Place tortillas on nonstick cookie sheet lines with parchment paper. Spray top of tortillas lightly with nonstick cooking spray. Bake for 10 -12 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with salsa and sour cream or yogurt.

178 days and 23.12 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

