Deceptive Industry Eating Trap

The Looneyspoons cookbook I was using last night to cook the Wowie Maui Chicken has the cutest drawings and neatest informational blurbs (hope that’s a word). On the page beside the recipe I happened to notice this little tidbit of information and I thought how appropriate and I would share.

D.I.E.T. is a four-letter word that really means….Deceptive Industry Eating Trap

Diets that promise next-to-impossible, immediate or don’t-lift-a-finger results are all a big fat lie. If it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is. Over 95% of us who lose weight by starving and depriving ourselves – dieting, that is – will gain the weight back. With a failure rate that high, why do we continue to support the industry which has taken advantage of and profited from the desperations of a dieter? A healthy, low-fat lifestyle is realistic, sensible, and affordable, unlike “miracle” diet fads and gimmicks which are effectively a form of “high weight robbery.”

That one paragraph pretty much summed up the purpose for my losing weight slowly and this blog. So I guess my work here is done. Just kidding, you have me for 164 days.

Keeping my fingers crossed for weigh in tomorrow, but my hopes are small. I have not been able to exercise much at all this week. Not sure riding the lawnmower giggled much off.

Seared Pork Loin

My niece Stephanie gave me this recipe years ago and we love it. I think this is a great Memorial Day prepare ahead recipe. It is great as sliders with some marinated slaw or just sliced and served on a platter with some cheese and crackers.

 1 ½ lb. pork tenderloin

½ cup white Worchester sauce (It is beside the original and says for chicken)

½ tsp creole seasoning

2 Tab. fresh chopped herbs – I use whatever I have growing, this weekend it will be basil and oregano

1 tsp Ms. Dash

2 cloves minced garlic

1 large red onion sliced

 Add all ingredients except pork and onion to a large plastic ziplock bag, mix and add pork. Marinate for at least 1 hour in refrigerator. I usually put it in marinade in the morning for the afternoon.

  • Pre-heat oven to 400o
  • Using a cast iron skillet, sear pork on both sides in a little olive oil.
  • Top with onions and pour marinade over pork.
  • Place skillet in oven for 20-25 minutes or until meat thermometer reads between 145 -160o.
  • Allow to rest 10 minutes before slicing.

164 days and 23.02 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

