Down SIze

Well today was not a good day, up 0.2 pounds. I knew this week wasn’t going to be good; I did not exercise as I should have. Geez, this is not going like I was hoping; make a plan, let everyone know your plan, make some pretty big changes, and lose 30 pounds. Sounded easy peasy. Yes I probably could cut the beer and wine, eat romaine lettuce daily, or drink a “shake” for breakfast and lunch, and lose my great sense of humor also. I may have to try to get taller instead. However; this is real life, especially for women. I swear roomie can decide he wants to drop a few pounds, cut out two pieces of bread and lose ten pounds in a week. I pretty much know it’s the lack of exercise which will have to be intensified next week. I will say that since I have gave up all soda, diet coke, and most processed foods, I do feel better and I have lost a lot of inches. So there has been wins.

Does anyone else hate clothes shopping? I have always hated it and I feel as though that is unnatural for a female. Nothing every fits, even if it is the same brand and size you have on, the clothes are hideous, and the prices are ridiculous. I like a deal like anyone else, but if they are too cheap, they look like you have worn them for years after the first wash. I have always thought if I ever had any control over women’s clothes, I would make the cut a size 14 and label it a size 10. Since they are already cutting the sizes smaller, why not cut them larger? Any woman who usually buys a size 14 and can buy a labeled size 10, even though she knows she is still at size 14. We would be all over that folks. Is that so terribly hard?

Banana Bread Muffins

I literally just pulled these out of the oven for breakfast tomorrow. Daughter and s-i-l are spending the night.

 1 cup mashed very ripe bananas

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

½ tsp. salt

½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. baking soda

½ cup wheat germ

1 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 375o

  • Mash bananas and put into bowl of mixer. Add other ingredients and mix until well blended.
  • Dough will be very stiff.
  • Line muffin pan with cupcake papers, (I always spray my cupcake papers so the muffin will not stick.) Divide batter up into 12 muffins.
  • Bake 20 – 25 minutes or until a knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  • Remove muffins from pan to wire rack to cool.

163 days and 23.22 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

