Turning Wine to Vinegar

What a wonderful busy weekend. Saturday was spent on Clark’s Hill Lake celebrating s-i-l’s birthday and yesterday after church was yard work and a good run. Half the run was in nice cool weather the other half was in the pouring rain. The pouring rain portion would be the trying to get home part.

Excited that myself and several others will be trying a new exercise beginning the last week in June, Pool Yoga. It will be for one hour twice a week for five weeks. I have done yoga before but the pool will definitely add another dimension. If you have never done any exercise in water, definitely try it. My best friend Cindy and I were laughing this weekend about pool exercise. Many years ago when we were both working in Aiken we went to the rehabilitation center at lunch to work out because they had an excellent gym. One day we noticed they were offering Pool Aerobics Classes so we signed up. The instructor was on the pool deck moving back and forth shouting out the moves, and I remember very vividly thinking that this really isn’t doing much. After an hour in the pool all the older ladies, Cindy, and I moved to the ladder, and the only way I can explain it is that when we went to take that first step out of the pool, our legs were jello. I wasn’t sure I could even get to the dressing room without falling. It was a bit embarrassing, but the water does add an extra dimension to a workout. If anyone in the Lexington-Columbia-Gilbert area is interested let me know and I will give you the details.

After my wet run, I wanted something healthy to eat for dinner last night. I had bought a package of thin cut chicken breast at Aldi, so I took two, put some lemon-pepper on them and broiled them. Then I made a wonderful salad with spinach, romaine, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, almond slivers, and dried cranberries. I was out of my go-to Mediterranean Dressing so I decided to mix it up a little and was very pleasantly surprised by the new dressing.

Tarragon Vinaigrette

I had bought a bottle of tarragon vinegar a long time ago for a recipe, (You know the one you buy an entire bottle for one teaspoon?) I presently have nine different flavored vinegars in my cabinet. They don’t go bad they ferment and age. I have purchased vinegars at wineries where the wine turned to vinegar instead of wine due to a bacteria that was probably on the grapes or possibly the grape presses. When an acetobacter, a bacterium that is everywhere, gets into your wine it slowly begins to turn the alcohol into acetic acid (vinegar) if left unhindered. Fortunately for us, acetobacter can be very easily destroyed before they have a chance to colonize and make vinegar instead of wine with the addition of sulfites. FYI, this recipe does not make a lot so I suggest doubling or tripling the recipe to keep in the refrigerator.

¼ cup tarragon vinegar

¼ cup good olive oil

1 Tab fresh basil chopped (We were in the middle of an electrical storm when I made this so I used ½ Tab dried basil. I had already showered from my run rain storm.)

½ tsp lemon juice

½ tsp green onion, chopped fine

½ tsp honey

½ tsp Dijon mustard

  • Mix all ingredients in a mason jar, put on lid and shake vigorously. Refrigerate leftovers.

153 days and 22.42 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

