To a Mouse

Please forgive me for not posting on Friday. I wasn’t depressed, down 0.2 pounds; I was just busy. The saying “Best laid plans of mice and men often go awry” is how my day started at 7:30 Am. Trivia for today, what is the origin of this saying? (Answer at bottom.)  I am leaving for Edisto Beach tomorrow and will be there till Friday, working with the wonderful employees of the Town’s Utility Department, and several other Towns employees. Regardless of how many times I teach the requested courses, there is always work to do beforehand. I use the same basic presentation but I personalize it for each location. I knew something was odd when my daughter called around 7:30 AM as I was brushing my teeth; we talk at least once a day, but not usually that early. Yesterday we went to McCormick under the invite for Roomie to help s-i-l finish the beer kegs that had been purchased for his birthday the weekend before. The keg-o-rator needed to be empty and out of the house. Fun was had by all, and we headed back to Lexington around 5:30ish. Well it seemed that Roomie had left his keys, wallet, and the $18 Carowinds discount coupon he had picked up at Subway on the way up, in McCormick. Did I mention he only has one key to his car, but has three copies of his drivers’ licenses. (He had thought he had lost his license, went to the DMV and paid to have another made, twice only to find the original.) So instead of buckling down to my daily “Work-To-Do” items, we headed back to McCormick. So I have been out of sorts all day.

I had hoped to exercise today, but haven’t made it to that item on my list yet and it is not looking good.

I made this bread to take to McCormick yesterday. We made panini’s and they were so good. We used fresh mozzarella, tomato slices, sweet onion slices, roasted peppers, and I took some chicken for the carnivores. My daughter has the most beautiful pot of basil and she had made fresh pesto last week, so we used that on our bread.

No-Knead Artesian Bread

This bread requires no bread making skills, just some planning. It sits on the counter for 10 hours to rise, so that needs to be taken into consideration. I made mine Saturday night and baked it Sunday morning before heading to church. I also use Bob’s Red Mill Artisan Bread Flour for this bread. I actually found the recipe on a bag I bought at one time.

3 cups Artisan Bread Flour

2 tsp salt

½ tsp dry yeast

1 ½ cup warm (not hot or you will kill the yeast) water

  • In a large bowl, combine flour, salt, and yeast and mix well. Add warm water and stir until you have a shaggy dough. Be sure to mix all the flour from the bottom.
  • Cover with plastic wrap and let dough rise on counter at room temperature for 10 hours. I use a sharpie and write the time I covered it and when the ten hours are up on the plastic wrap.
  • At end of ten hours, preheat oven to 450o and put a Dutch oven into the oven without the lid, for 30 minutes.
  • While the Dutch oven heat, four hands well and scrape the dough down from the sides and bottom of the bowl. Sprinkle a little flour into the bowl, so it will not stick, and knead dough into a ball. Place back in bowl and cover again with plastic wrap and let rest for 30 minutes.
  • With floured hands, place the dough, very carefully into the heated Dutch oven. Cover with lid and bake for 25 minutes. Remove cover and bake for 12 minutes.
  • Remove loaf from Dutch oven and cool completely before cutting (yeah like that is going to happen.)

146 days and 22.22 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

Poem, To a Mouse, by Robert Burns

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

