Exactly Who Are “Leisure Visitors”?

I am going to start today by stating the obvious, it is HOT. Yes I realize it is June in South Carolina, but Mother Nature did trick us with a fairly mild May and then wham. For the life of me I can’t understand why anyone ever thought “Famously Hot” was a good marketing tool for City of Columbia.  I am convinced this brainstorming session was done in January and not July or August. The web site states, “Midlands Authority for Conventions, Sports and Tourism has launched a marketing campaign to attract meetings and conventions, sports groups, and leisure visitors to Columbia.” I will be the first to state I do not have a Marketing degree, but does this really make any group or potential “leisure visitors” want to come to Columbia? I suggest that someone needs to tell the proposed AAA baseball team they need asbestos batting gloves to hold the aluminum bats. I exercised yesterday, but about fell out. I think it was the combination of the heat and the fact that I gave blood yesterday morning at the church blood drive; wicked combination. I really have no recollection of the last half mile. Be careful it’s hot.

I was on the road last week and head out again tomorrow till Thursday but the weekend was wonderful. Daughter came down to spend the weekend last Friday and to take me to see Jurassic Park for Mother’s Day/Birthday. I give it five stars. I love the Jurassic Park Movies (#2 not so much) and could not wait to see this one and it did not disappoint.

Granola Bars

One request daughter had for the weekend was that we make Granola Bars. We have finally found the most wonderful, healthy granola bar recipe and I am sharing it. (True story, soon as I typed the last sentence I had to get up and go to the refrigerator for a small granola bar.) They are that good. When daughter and I make them, we double the recipe since half goes with her.  They keep well in refrigerator for about a week, or so we have been told.

 2 cups pitted dates (we have used half prunes  and all prunes before)

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp salt

3 cups old fashioned oats (Do use the old fashioned because they are thicker and hold up better.)

¼ cup dried cranberries

¼ cup golden raisins

1 cup roughly chopped raw almonds

½ cup raw pumpkin seed (Have used sunflower.)

¾ cup natural (no sugar), almond or peanut butter

½ cup honey

Place the dates in small bowl and cover with water. Microwave for 2 minutes on high, pour off water. (If using prunes do not need to do this step.) Chop in food processor until fine.

  • In glass measuring cup combine nut butter and honey. Microwave until warm enough to combine with whisk.
  • Line 13 x 9 pan with parchment paper.
  • In a large bowl combine all ingredients and mix with hands until well mixed. It will be warm and takes a little time. (Also it is messy.)
  • Pour into parchment paper pan, wet hands and press into even layer. Be sure to press firmly so the mixture is tight.
  • Place in freezer for one hour.
  • Remove from pan with parchment paper and turn upside down onto large cutting board. Cut into bars and place into air tight container. Cut the parchment paper just removed and place between layers.
  • Store in refrigerator.

139 days and 22.22 lbs till Disney Food and Wine. (I was so exhausted from working all week and forgot to weigh on Friday.)

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

