Overachiever

I had a great weigh-in Friday, down one pound. Even in the super-hot temperatures I have walked/ran three afternoons this week. Hot as I get while walking I keep expecting some fat to start melting and dripping off with the sweat. This only seems like a logical expectation since I am boiling from the inside out. I am a sweater and always have been. I break out in a sweat when everyone else seems to be comfortable, and no it’s not “hot flashes”; those have already passed thank you. My Mama would be working in her garden in mid-July and have a few sweat beads on her face around her hairline.  I guess she glistened, while I pour. I did a little research as why some people sweat more than others. According to the John Hopkins website, our bodies have 2-5 million sweat glands embedded in our bodies and women have more sweat glands than men. (Yikes the first thing that crossed my mind was a show I once saw where they embedded locating devices in humans.) From all the research I read, the following seem to be a consensus of why some people sweat more than others: number of sweat glands, temperature (seriously I hope a lot of money wasn’t spent on that research), how anxious a person is, and how overweight a person is. At this point I decided this information was bogus. I sweat like a marathon runner when I weighed thirty pounds less than I do now. Obviously I am simply an overachiever.

Roomie and I are going Middle Eastern/Indian with a splash of Americana tonight; Pork Shawarma, Whole Wheat Naan, and some American marinated slaw. Roomie surprised me this evening with my favorite six pack; Grapefruit Sculpin. I am assuming this is in lieu of rent again this month. But he was quick to point out that it does contain fruit.

Chicken or Pork Shawarma

I have made this with chicken breast, chicken thighs, and pork loin; all equally delicious and healthy. The spice sumac can be purchased at a spice store (got mine in Charleston) or ordered online and is well worth the hunt. However if you don’t have it omit it, there is really no substitute.

 Naan is an Indian flatbread that is a bit crunchy on the outside but soft inside. I am going to make our Naan and will post later if turns out good. If you never see the recipe, assume you just need to purchase. **

 1.25 lbs boneless chicken breast or pork loin, cut into bite size pieces

½ cup fat free Greek yogurt

2 cloves minced garlic

1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cardamom

¼ tsp all spice

½ tsp. sumac

Juice of one lemon

2 Tbs. olive oil

2 Tbs white wine vinegar

Salt/ pepper to taste

  • Add all ingredients, except meat in a gallon ziplock bag. Close and massage with hand to mix well, add meat, close, and massage again until all meat is covered in marinade.
  • Marinate at least one hour to overnight.
  • Spray a broiler pan with oil, remove meat from marinade and place in single layer on pan.
  • Broil until done. This depends on how large your pieces are, but it does not take very long. Keep checking after a few minutes.
  • Serve in Naan with shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, chopped cucumbers, yogurt, and onions.

135 days and 21.22 lbs till Disney Food and Wine

**FYI the Naan was AMAZING and so simple. To quote Roomie, “Full to the rafters, Rose.”

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

