Soarin’

Super busy day that started early; I was the number one oil change at Wal Mart this morning. I had a lot of computer work to get done so I needed to get going. Other than I prefer to be outside and don’t like to sit still, I don’t mind working on the computer a day or two a week. While working on the computer I listen to Mouse World Radio and dream, I mean work. Daughter also listens if she is working on the computer at her work and we text each other what is on the channel we are listening to. It makes us try to figure out a way to work at Disney before we retire. Yesterday she texted to tell me that the Soarin’ music was on Channel 2, but by the time I got the text and changed channels, I had missed it. This is my absolutely favorite ride at Disney hands down. On this ride you soar over California’s scenery. Basically you sit in an over-sized swing which rises off the floor, maybe 5 feet for the top riders; however you feel as though you are actually flying. We were there the year the ride opened and both my children were either in college or high-school and college, basically adults; when we rose up and seemed as though we were flying, a mother’s instinct set in and I threw my arms out to either side to hold them in. Roomie just looked at me and said, “You do realize we are not actually flying, right and we are 3 feet off the ground!” We laugh about that every time we ride it, okay I laugh and the kids roll their eyes, but there is laughter. And as one thing leads to another, it makes me think about when I had just gotten my driver’s license, I would take my oldest niece with me anywhere I could, before car seats, and she would stand beside me on the front seat of Lizbeth, my ’65 green Impala, and I would put my arm out to make sure she didn’t fall when I stopped. It’s a wonder any of us lived to see adulthood.

Two more nights of Vacation Bible School and Ms. Rose is already exhausted. I haven’t been able to get in much exercise at all. (If the weather plays pretty I will probably walk again tonight.)  I don’t know how the kids do it. Our group had 15 precious two and three year olds last night, but was much better than Sunday night. I managed to have two teenagers and another adult to help herd.

Chicken Breast Stir-Fry with Green Beans

When green beans are fresh this is a go-to recipe for us. If you can’t find plum sauce, try ¼ cup apricot preserves, 1 tsp mustard, and ¼ tsp lemon juice: however plum sauce is fairly easy to find in the Asian section of most big groceries. I found this recipe in an old cookbook The Chicken Parts Cookbook by Charles Pierce many years ago.

 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves

1/2 cup slivered almonds

1 pound fresh green beans, ends removed, snapped, and washed

1 Tab Asian sesame oil

¼ cup bottled plum sauce

1 Tab red onion, chopped fine

Salt/Pepper

Cooked brown rice, quinoa, or couscous

Preheat oven to 350oF.

  • Cut chicken breasts into 1 inch cubes and set aside
  • Spread the almonds on a small baking sheet and toast, stirring often, until lightly browned and fragrant, 10 – 12 minutes. (Watch carefully, they will burn quickly.) Remove and place pan on cooling rack.
  • Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Plunge the beans into the boiling water, bring back to a boil, and cook until slightly tender, 2-3 minutes. Remove from water and put into a boil of ice water to stop cooking. Drain.
  • Heat a large skillet or wok if you have one, over medium-high heat. Add chicken, stirring constantly and cook until there are no traces of pink, 2-3 minutes. Stir in green beans and almonds. Cook 2 minutes or until chicken is firm to the touch and beans are warm. Stir in plum sauce and season with salt and pepper to taste. Cook 1 additional minute, stirring constantly.
  • Serve over cooked brown rice, quinoa, or couscous and top with red onions.

131 days and 21.22 pounds till Disney Food & Wine.

 

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

