Human After All

Once again I apologize for my absence. It has been sort of a trifecta of issues this week; work, lazy, and no electricity. I did not have a good weigh in last Friday, so I was a bit moody Friday and Saturday (according to roomie.) Our electricity has had issues several days this week with off for hours so I decided not to plug up my computer even to a surge protector two days. Today all is much better. I started a pool yoga class on Monday with six others. It meets for one hour on Monday and Wednesday for four weeks. I am hoping a different type of exercise instead of just running/walking is what I need. As much as it may surprise some, I am only human. Speaking of running, I ran the best time I have ever run in my life this week. I checked the weather, (by looking at the sky, old school), and it looked fine. I was about 1.5 miles from home and not really paying attention to anything; listening to Undisclosed podcast, (if you are one of the few people in the USA who haven’t listened to Serial then Undisclosed, where ya been!) I looked up and saw a very large ugly fluffy dark cloud which appeared to be racing toward me. I had not felt any rain, heard any thunder, or seen any lightening, but I decided to be on the safe side I would head back home. About half mile from the house, the wind had me running sideways and it was raining so hard I could barely see the road; Roomie called to see where I was and if he needed to come get me, it still  wasn’t lightening so I decided I could make it. The only bit of humor in this was the cars that would get just past me then tap their brakes. I am sure they were thinking, “I should probably stop and see if she needs a ride, but she sure is wet and if she is running in this weather, she must be crazy. Ah she’ll be fine.”  All of a sudden the loudest crack of lightening shot through the sky and I tell you, my speed which was already quick picked up immensely. Fastest half mile run I have ever had. I didn’t even look up until I got under the carport and there was Roomie with keys in hand. After he heard the lightening he was heading out to find me even if I was in the driveway.

I do want to wish everyone a Happy Fourth of July. My Daddy was a WWII veteran and I am always proud of those who serve our country. They do a job I could never do. I truly I didn’t appreciate what my Dad did until recent years. One reason is we heard so the same stories over and over, we would just tune out when he started and there was a time when I am pretty sure he could remember first and last names of everyone in his unit and where they were from but couldn’t tell you my sister or my birthday. Over the years I have come to learned how life altering his experiences was. He was on a boat for 3 years in the Philippines with had no contact with his family. The only way Granny Eva knew he was still alive was that no one came to her door to tell her otherwise.

baked beans

Homemade Baked Beans

Hands down this is the best baked bean recipe you will ever find. It takes some planning for the three steps but so well worth it. I do not like canned baked beans, or pork and beans “fancied” up; they are so full of sugar. These are real baked beans. Just plan to start the day before you want to eat them. This recipe is from 1937 and as given to a lady from her Mom when she married, unfortunately that is all I know, no names.

 2 cups dried white navy beans or yellow eye peas

Rinse peas well, drain, then cover with plenty of water and let soak overnight.

This is one of the two places I differ from the original recipe. Since this was before crock pots, they cook their beans on the stove for 2 hours. I don’t wish to be chained to the stove for that long so I simply pour off the water and put the beans in the crockpot and cover by 1 inch with fresh water. Cook on high for 2-3 hours or on low all day. Peas need to be soft but not totally done.

After beans have cooked, stir in

1 Tab salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 tsp dry mustard

½ cup molasses

½ cup brown sugar

2-3 pieces of bacon, chopped

Now this is the other place I different from the original recipe. They call for you to pour the mixture into a casserole. I pour mine into my cast iron pot to bake them. I think it adds a lot of flavor and it looks cooler to serve from..

Whichever vessel you choose, bake at 325o for 2 to 2 ½ hours until the beans are well done. I start checking it after 1 ½ hours to make sure it isn’t drying out.

Delicious!!!

 Oh my goodness, I have a ways to go.

121 Days to Disney Food & Wine and 21.32 pounds to go!

 

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

