Enough is Enough

First let me say today is my Daddy’s birthday and I miss him so much, but he is much happier with Mama in heaven. My Daddy truly died of a broken heart. After Mama died on Christmas day, he never truly lived again, just existed; and it didn’t take long for him to join her in what I imagine was a glorious reunion.

I had some extra cucumbers this weekend so I made some bread and butter refrigerator pickles. I do not eat the waxed cucumbers that are big on seeds and low on flavor. If that is all that is available, pass. I like the little “pickling” cucumbers. They have the best flavor and are so crisp. I buy them in the store year round even when they are not in season. Roomie and I have been eating a lot of sliced cucumbers, onions, and tomatoes with nonfat Greek yogurt, a little dill, and salt/pepper lately. I knew it was time to back off when his eyebrows rose a little when I put it on the table last night, again. As Arnold would say, sort of, “It will return.” Back to the bread and butter pickles, I can get off topic like nobody’s business; that is how this mind of mine works, I only made 1 quart and one pint to eat fresh.  I decided to halve the sugar so we shall see.

I am traveling tomorrow so I decided to go ahead this afternoon and cook some lunch to take. If I have something with me it prevents me from stopping and buying something unhealthy. Found the interesting recipe below a few days ago and decided to try it. I was highly impressed. It made enough for two meals, so I had roomie taste it to see if he wanted the other serving for lunch tomorrow; “Interesting” so I took that as he liked it and will eat it for lunch tomorrow.

Red Lentil Giardiniera with Sliced Almonds

This recipe is adapted from The Balanced Plate by Renee Loux; the word Giardiniera is Italian for “from the garden”. This means you can add any fresh sliced vegetable you have on hand. I pulled my spiralizer out to make zucchini noodles to go on my salad at lunch, so I just used the other half of the zucchini, spiralized. Just cut your veggies thin and you will have the same results or buy a spiralizer.

 2 cups cooked tiny red lentils (Cook according to package directions.)

2 green onions, trimmed and thinly sliced

¼ cup thinly sliced red onion

2 ribs celery, thinly sliced

1 medium carrot grated

3 Tab fresh parsley, chopped

1 Tab extra virgin olive oil (You want to make sure you use the light kind here or it taste “thick.”)

1 Tab lemon juice

½ cup toasted sliced almonds

½ zucchini, spiralized or thinly sliced

¼ cup capers with a bit of their juice (Recipe called for capers or green olives chopped.)

½ cup cooked quinoa

Salt/pepper

In a bowl toss all the ingredients together, then taste and add salt and pepper.

  • Dish needs to stand for a minimum of one hour for the flavors to develop. Serve at room temperature or chilled.
  • Store in air tight container in refrigerator for 3 days.

117 days to Disney Food & Wine and 21.32 pounds to go!

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

