Funky Day

It’s a scorcher and pool yoga has been rescheduled to tomorrow and I refuse to walk/run today. I did three miles yesterday, but I swear it’s hotter today and I’m just not in the mood. Had a quick work trip to Mt. Pleasant this morning and since I have been back home I have been unmotivated and in a funk and it needs to go away. Maybe I will motivate myself to do a circuit, read as very doubtful but it sounds good. Called roomie on the way home for a suggestion or any idea on what to have for dinner, and I got, “Whatever you fix will be great.” That sounds like a compliment, but when I ask for help, which I seldom do, I need an idea, not a round-about compliment which is only designed for you not to offer any ideas or make a suggestion. We both had the salad from yesterday’s blog for lunch so that is gone and the refrigerator is bare of any more leftovers. Ugh.

I am going to my best friends Mom’s house Friday evening to pick the best blueberries in Lexington County. Mrs. Wilma can grow the biggest and sweetest blueberries I have ever seen. Last year I put five gallons in the freezer and that does not count the gallon I ate while picking. By Saturday morning a making of our favorite Blueberry Muffins, recipe below, will be made.

Well I have talked myself into doing a circuit, but I’m still in a funk and really don’t want to do it. (This is a true life reality show.) One reason I sort of talked myself into it is I have a new WDW Radio podcast I can’t wait to hear; oh and it is good for me physically and mentally. Newsflash so would rather be in Disney right now!

[Update: I did exercise; 20 jumping jacks, 20 squats, 10 push-ups (weakling), 20 mountain climbers, 20 sit-ups, 10 leg lifts, 20 high knee lifts, times 4. I do feel better, only a semi-funk now.]

Blueberry Muffins

These are hands-down our favorite blueberry muffins. They are actually very healthy, unlike the big muffins offered in most coffee stores. This recipe is from Uprising, the Whole Grain Bakers’ Book.

 ¼ cup wheat bran

¼ cup wheat germ

2 1/3 cup whole wheat flour

¾ Tab. baking soda

¾ tsp salt

1/3 cup powdered milk

Combine these ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

1/3 cup canola or safflower oil

2/3 cup honey

1 1/3 cup water

Mix these with dry ingredients. Fold only enough to moisten.

1 ½ cup fresh blueberries

Fold into batter.

  • Spoon into greased muffin pans or sprayed muffin liners.
  • Bake 25-35 minutes at 350o until toothpick comes out clean from center.
  • Cool on cooling rack.

116 days to Disney Food & Wine and 21.32 pounds to go!

 

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

