Personal Preference

Another warm day but I have pool yoga this afternoon so all is well with the world, except for the fact I have to have a new water pump put on my car, but what the heck, could have been a radiator, right?

Once again I am proud of South Carolina. The flag issue is done and over except for the physical removal. I am pleased for the families of the tragic Charleston shooting that their unfortunate death has brought some positive change. Roomie has plans to be on the State House grounds in the morning to witness the removal first hand. He is a history major and buff and finds it fascinating. I know a lot of people enjoy sharing their personal views and why theirs are right and everyone else’s are wrong. My preference is to keep my personal opinions on the flag and politics just that, personal. If asked directly and if I have an opinion I will share it. My children can argue politics till they almost become angry since one is a Republican and one a Democrat.  I am pretty sure they chose opposite sides for the sole purpose of arguing but they do stay more informed than I do. Before anyone begins the with it’s your right to vote, la, la, la, I vote every election and if I am not sure whom to vote for, I do my own  research to see where each stands on issues that are the most important to me before I vote. Politics just isn’t my cup of tea. (Hang with me I promise I am going somewhere with this.) The term, cup of tea, was first used in the UK around 1598 and was associated with their high regard for tea. The term was used to describe an acquaintance in a positive manner. It wasn’t until WWII that the negative usage began when Hal Boyle described English life and manners from an American audience in his column, Leave From a War Correspondent’s Notebook.  [In England] “You don’t say someone gives you a pain in the neck. You just remark ‘He’s not my cup of tea.’” This alluded to American’s lesser regard to tea. I am so willing to wager that with the many, possible thousands, of articles being written today nationwide about the events of the Confederate Flag, I am the only person who connected the flag to England. I mean if it’s truly all about history and our heritage, shouldn’t we also be taking down the British flag?

Pizza with Eggplant and Dried Oregano

I love eggplant. Usually its mild flavor is masked by other flavors, so this is why I really like this pizza. The eggplant is the star. I make this a lot during the summer because it’s a perfect dinner with a glass of white wine. Recipe is adapted from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison. A lot of recipes suggest leaving the peel on eggplant, however I have never had it where I didn’t think it was tough, so I always peel my eggplant for any recipe; personal preference. Warning this does not make a very large pizza, so if more than one person will be eating, double the recipe. The first time I made it, I was concerned about no sauce on the pizza dough, but you do not need it at all.

 3 Tab extra virgin olive oil

8 – 12 ounces eggplant, peeled or unpeeled, diced into ½ inch cubes

Half sweet onion, diced (The onion was not in the original recipe, I add onion to everything. Hey I grew up on an onion farm, what can I say.)

2 Tab chopped parsley

1 clove garlic, minced

Salt/ pepper

½ tsp dried oregano

4 ounces mozzarella, preferably fresh diced into small cubes

½ making Pizza dough (I offered two options on It Must Be Spring blog.)

Preheat oven to 500o (No this is not a misprint.)

  • Heat olive oil in a wide skillet over medium-high heat. Add eggplant and onions and sauté, stirring every few minutes, until golden and tender. About 15 minutes.
  • While eggplants are sautéing, stretch pizza dough into a 10 inch circle, and set on a floured pizza pan or stone.
  • Remove skillet from heat and add parsley, garlic, oregano, salt, and pepper.
  • Cover the dough with the eggplant mixture and top with cheese.
  • Bake for 7-8 minutes or until the crust is brown.

115 days to Disney Food & Wine and 21.32 pounds to go!

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

