20-25 Feet!

Since I sent out my blog earlier today from last night, you remember the one I fell asleep before I hit the send button, I wasn’t going to send another. Good gosh I am not sure how much you could take in one day, but I am going to push you my friends. As I was running/walking today, thank the Lord it was 89o, I saw something that I knew I needed to tell you about. I was actually running at this point and a small car, a Corolla had their blinker coming toward me but a little way away. As they turned into the driveway, the car stopped and the gentleman on the passenger side, maybe 45-50ish, got out checked the mail, then proceeded to get back in the car and ride a whopping 25 feet maximum to his garage. Is this what we have become? Full disclosure I do not know this man and he may have health issues, but he was walking and moving fine; but he couldn’t walk the 20 – 25 ft. from his garage to the mailbox. Another full disclosure I was hoping seeing me running would make him feel guilty, but I don’t believe he cared one bit. I am also fairly sure this was not the first time this was done; it seemed to be way too synchronized.  Why have we become so lazy? I know I do things the easy way sometimes too, and I am trying to be more conscious of these things and eliminate them from my life. For instance I always take the time and extra energy to pour my beer into a cold mug. The colder the more calories my body has to use to digest it and there is the energy I use to pour it. Well now that is off my chest I feel better and don’t let me see you stopping and getting your mail when your box is less than a quarter of a football field from your house or I will call you out by name.

Roomie and I had the dish below tonight with our Chana Marsala and it was an excellent side with the spicy Indian food, and very healthy. As I said earlier this week I am amazed at how many people don’t think they like eggplant. It takes on the flavors of what it is cooked with; however I like the taste and texture of eggplant.

Eggplant & Tomato Tian

This recipe is from Melissa d’Arabian, from the Food Network. It calls for all the vegetables to be in three separate rows of vegetables, but my eggplant slices were lazy, they must stop at the mailbox also, and would not cooperate, so I layered it and it was just fine. Roomie never knew the difference nor did he care.

 2 – 3 Tab. olive oil

1 small eggplant, sliced ¼ inch thick

Kosher salt

2 small onions, sliced into ¼ inch thick rounds

1 clove garlic

2 small tomatoes, sliced into ¼ inch thick rounds

¼ cup shredded Parmesan cheese, preferably not the kind in the green can but fresh

Preheat oven to 375o. Set rack in center of the oven.

  • In a large sauté pan, heat 1 Tab olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the eggplant slices, season with kosher salt and cook until golden on both sides. Remove to plate and repeat with onion slices.
  • Rub a small 9 x 9 inch baking dish with the garlic clove. Layer all the eggplant slices, tomato slices, then onion slices. Season with a bit more kosher salt and drizzle with a Tab olive oil.
  • Cover with tin foil and bake until the tomatoes are soft but still hold their shape, about 20 minutes. Remove foil, turn the oven to broil. Sprinkle the parmesan cheese on top and place under broiler unto the cheese melts and browns, about 2 minutes.

110 days and 20.82 lbs. to go till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

