With the Good Comes Some Bad

Well if you jump to the bottom of the page, you will see my weight loss goal begins with a new number. Yes it was a good morning, minus 2.2 pounds. I worked hard this week at pool yoga, cardio, and walking/running. There was going to be an upset Mama if things didn’t change some.

Yesterday evening I was out walking/running when I got a text from my realtor, about 6 pm that someone would show the house today at 10. I have had it on the market for a few months and am a bit tired of keeping it show clean and the yard, 2.5 acres, needed to be cut and weed whacked. I was about a mile from the house so I called roomie, who had just got home, told him to get the lawn mower gassed and start on the yard. Thank goodness we did a deep cleaning last Saturday so I only needed to “touch” up the inside and de-cat-hair (cat people understand this term.) When I got to the house we tagged and I got on the lawn mower and roomie began weed eating and cleaning under the garage. When I came in the house at 9:20, I was about 88% done. Finished up at 8:30 this morning, bathed, cleaned litter boxes, again, and left. I came back to the house around 1:00 pm today and the first thing I always do after a showing is look for the agent’s card: no card. Texted my agent and she said she had not been notified they entered. Really just let someone know if you are not coming. After a very active week and manic grass cutting my entire body hurt last night so I tossed all night with very little sleep. Also even though you know you shouldn’t, it kind of gets your hopes up that “this could be the one.” NOT. Well my yard and house looks good if anyone would like to come view it, anyone? Hopefully roomie and I will work on the back shrubbery tomorrow. They don’t know it but they better be glad I had a good weigh in this morning.

Baked Penne with Summer Squash and Mushrooms

This is a great side dish or by adding rotisserie chicken it becomes a complete meal. This is as close to a casserole anyone in my family will eat. Recipe is adapted from The Classic Zucchini Cookbook, by Nancy Ralston, Marynor Jordan and Andrea Chesman.

 3 Tab extra virgin olive oil

6 ounces mushrooms, sliced (I have used canned mushrooms drained and just mixed in.)

1 medium zucchini, quartered and sliced

1 medium yellow squash, quartered and sliced

1 red bell pepper, diced

4 cloves minced garlic

¼ cup fresh basil, sliced thin

1 (26 ounce) jar Alfredo Sauce (I like Trader Joe’s better than any other I tried.)

1 pound whole wheat penne

8 ounces shredded mozzarella

Cook pasta according to package directions, al dente, drain.

  • Preheat oven to 350o.
  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and season with salt and pepper. Sauté until the mushrooms give up their juice, about 5 minutes. Add zucchini, yellow squash, bell pepper, basil, and garlic. Sauté until veggies are softened, about 4 minutes. Remove from heat.
  • Mix pasta, with veggie mixture, and add Alfredo sauce. Stir well.
  • Pour into sprayed 13 x 9 glass baking dish.
  • Sprinkle cheese on top. And bake for 20 – 30 minutes until heated through and cheese is lightly browned.

 107 days and 18.62 lbs. till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

