Eggplant Bonanza

I know the Bonanza theme song is running through some of my more “mature” readers when they read the title. In this usage bonanza means I have hit the jackpot. My sister called today to say that she planted a few to many baby eggplant plants in her garden and wanted to know if I wanted some. (Some here is defined as a half bushel.) From reading previous blogs, you know I am all in for eggplant; however, I just fed roomie Eggplant Bolognese Monday night, and eggplant would not be listed on his top 25 vegetable list. I have a folder full of eggplant recipes calling for me, so I will have to be creative. I have just pulled four recipes out of the folder, Curried Chicken Thighs & Eggplant Sauté, Grilled Baby Eggplant with Spicy Peanut Sauce, Warm Eggplant & Goat Cheese Sandwiches, and Baked Orzo with Eggplant and Mozzarella. Is it sad when you get all “nervous” inside because you are so excited to try new recipes? I am just asking, not that I am or anything. I will post as I prepare each of them.

Once we got a TV, I was nine, Sunday nights were Bonanza nights. I can still hear the theme song and see the three horses galloping toward me in my mind. The show was a western centered on the Cartwright family. The TV show was on from September 1959 to 1973 and is still in syndication today. Ben, played by Lorene Greene, was the Dad. Interestingly he appeared in all by 4 episodes. The three sons were Adam, who departed the series in 1964. He “went to sea and ended up in Austria.” Do you know the given name of the second son; he was called Hoss on the show? (Answer below.) Hoss died in 1972 while filming the series. This was the first time any TV show producers had ever chosen to kill off a main beloved character instead of having him just no longer be there with some random explanation. The third son was, swoon, Little Joe, played by Michael Landon.; who was everyone’s heartthrob. Also for useless knowledge, Bonanza is the second longest running western series only behind what show? (Answer below.)

P.S. (Remember when we wrote notes in school and added this to the bottom of almost everyone?) Don’t forget to call 888.382.1222 to register your cell phone for the Do Not Call List. You have to use the phone you are registering and do it quick. Telemarketers can start calling them soon; not that they aren’t already.

Butter Beans with Summer Squash

Raise your hand if you spent many summer evenings shelling butter beans or peas. When Mama picked them shelling was not optional. They would be shelled before the day was over and she would blanch and freeze them the next morning. I have to confess I tend to purchase the ones already shelled at the farmers markets. I feel as though I have done my time and I like my nails to look nicer than when I was ten.

 4 cups cooked fresh (or frozen) butter beans (or lima beans)

2 Tab olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

2 small yellow summer squash, cut into 1 inch rounds then cut into fourths

½ garlic tsp salt

2 Tab chopped pimentos

1 Tab fresh chives (optional)

Warm butterbeans if cold.

  • In a large skillet over medium-high heat, add olive oil and sauté garlic for 2 – 3 minutes.
  • Add squash and sauté 4 – 5 minutes or until squash are soft.
  • Add warm butter beans, garlic salt, pimentos, and chives, and stir.
  • Turn off heat, cover, and let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

95 days and 17.22 lbs. till Disney Food & Wine.

Answers: Eric, Gunsmoke

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

