To Cilantro or Not To Cilantro

Well today’s weigh-in is in limbo. The first time I stepped on the scales I had lost 1.4 pounds, the second time, within 10 seconds of the first time I was the same as last week. I want to go with the first, but scared I will regret it next week, so I decided to go with no change even though I don’t think that is correct. My clothes are telling a story, loosely, (get that one.) Running has been a bit hot lately, but I am still trudging along and have my pool yoga. With this heat we could do pool yoga till December. Still working on my 5K plan for beginners; let you know after next Saturday’s 5K how it works.

Are you for cilantro or not? I love cilantro, but roomie is not crazy about it. I have found either you are a cilantro lover or hater, not much in-between. I think it has the most clean, fresh, healthy taste. If you ever find you have more cilantro than you can use, which I cannot imagine, wash it and stuff the entire bunch, stems and all, inside a chicken with a lemon cut in half, bake it or put it in the crock pot. Little history, the seed of the cilantro plant is coriander. Even though both cilantro and coriander come from the same plant their flavor is very different. Since I always acquaint cilantro with Mexican food, I would have assumed its origin was Mexico, but to my surprise Cilantro herb is native to the Mediterranean, and Asia Minor (Turkey) regions. One of my favorite places to eat lunch at Disney is in Morocco and cilantro is very prevalent in the food. As of today, cilantro from Puebla, Mexico has been banned due to fecal matter being found in leaves. However if you have purchased cilantro in the last few days, just be sure to wash it well and your hands after handling it and you will be fine.

Steak Fajitas

Had these for dinner last night and roomie didn’t seem to mind the cilantro on the steak. Also helps he was famished when he got home; should have had one of my recipes with the Fairy Eggplants.

 1 pound skirt steak, cut into ¼” strips,

2 Tab olive oil

2 Tab. minced garlic

Juice of 1 lime

½ jalapeno, seeded and deveined if you wish

¼ cup cilantro, chopped, leaves and some stems

Large bell pepper, any color, cut into strips

Large onion, halved and sliced

Flour tortillas

Greek yogurt

Fresco Cheese

Mix the olive oil, garlic, lime juice, jalapeno, and cilantro together and pour into plastic bag, add steak, seal, and mash around (technical term) until all steak is covered. Let sit in refrigerator for a minimum of one hour, overnight is good.

  • Heat large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 Tab olive oil, bell peppers, and onions. Sauté until peppers and onions are tender, remove onto a plate.
  • Add steak without marinade and stir fry for a few minutes until done to your liking.
  • Serve with tortillas, yogurt, cheese and any toppings your like.

93 days and 17.22 lbs. (Maybe) till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

